Intertwined~ Book Review

by Gena Showalter
Read April 2011

Paperback Edition
Published by Harlequin Teen
Genre~ Young Adult, Paranormal Romance
ISBN-978 0 373 21012 1
Source~ Amazon Vine Review Program

review
Gena Showalters, Intertwined has one of the most unique ideas in the budding YA Paranormal genre.  The backstory is so inventive and creative it really drew me in, made me want more.

Aden Stone is a human, but not a “normal” human.  Trapped inside him are four souls, all with supernatural powers.  Eve can travel in time, Julian can raise the dead, Elijah can tell the future, and Caleb can possess another being.  Throw into that mix a young girl named Mary Ann who makes the voices go away.  Aden doesn’t know why, but he HAS to know her.

Add in a good mixing of vampires, werewolves, Vlad the Impaler, witches, fairies, goblins, and other paranormal beings and the result is a book I didn’t want to put down.

Now, I wish I could say I had no complaints, but I did.  The interactions between the male/female teens in the story was disturbing to me.  I know teens fall in love hard, but I found it all annoying.  Then again, I am 30 reading a book intended for teens…so who knows.  They were weirdly jealous and possessive, and I just didn’t like it.

I also wasn’t fond of the ending.  It just…stopped.  There is a second book in the series, Unraveled, but I still like it when each book in a series can stand alone.  There was also a lot of backstory that was brought in that made me check twice to see if I had missed the first book in the series.  Some information seemed hastily thrown in as you would in a second book in a series to do a quick recap of what has happened so far.

Overall, I enjoyed the book and will definitely be looking for the second in the series.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on April 26, 2011.

One Response to “Intertwined~ Book Review”

  1. While I wouldn t necessarily want to sit down and repeat this process for another 3 hours or 1 for that matter , we did come away with some good information as well.

Leave a Reply

 
