Pretties (Uglies #2)~ Book Review

by Scott Westerfeld
read April 2010
Paperback Edition
Published by Scholastic
Genre~ YA Fiction/Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
ISBN 13~ 978 0 689 86539 8
Source~ Bought second hand

Rating~

 

It’s been a while since I read Uglies, the first of this trilogy by Scott Westerfeld. I’ve read many books in between, so recalling exactly what happened in Uglies and how I felt about it took me a while. I remembered liking it, but not loving it.

Everywhere that Uglies failed me, Pretties won me over. The post apocalyptic look at our world and what might happen if we continue on or current path, hit home with this novel where as the first novel almost seemed to try too hard to make it real. In this dystopic future, everyone is made “pretty” when they are 16. They undergo extensive surgery to make everyone more alike both physically and mentally.

This book in the trilogy, picks up right where the first left off. David’s parents had discovered a cure for the brain lesions that the pretty operation caused. They discovered that the operation not lonely made everyone beautiful, it also made them mindless pawns. Tally surrendered herself to Special Circumstances to become pretty so that the cure could later be tested on her.

The fact that my details on the first book were kind of fuzzy didn’t matter because Tally’s brain is fuzzy too. In a way, I think it might have helped pique my interest in the beginning of the book. Tally seems to know something is different about her, but in her new life as a Pretty with her old friends Paris and Shay, and a new love interest Zane, it is hard to focus on anything else.

The rest of the journey Tally makes into trying to remember who she really is was highly intriguing. Westerfeld has a talent for really making you feel like you are involved in the story. As much as I felt…meh…about the first book, I really enjoyed this one. What made it different? I’m really not sure. The story was just better and more intriguing.

So, for anyone who felt ambiguous about Uglies as I did, give Pretties a chance. I’m certainly glad I did!

~Jenn

P.s. Sorry the posts have been a bit few and far between.  Bedrest and pregnancy have been….challenging. 🙂  I have a few reviews to catch up on

~ by jennifermorrill on June 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
