Dark Reunion (The Vampire Diaries Book #4)~ Book Review

by L.J. Smith
Read February 2010

Paperback Edition
520 Pages (Both Books) 275 (Dark Reunion only)
Published by Harper Teen
Genre~ Young Adult Paranormal Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 0 06 114098 3 (combo of The Fury and Dark Reunion)
Source~ Purchased in store

Rating~

 

 

I kind of wish the series would have left this book out. It didn’t have the same intrigue as the other three books. Yes, there was mystery and suspense, I just didn’t care as much.  In my opinion, it wasn’t even written as well.  I caught myself skimming a few times and had to go back and actually read. 

 

WARNING SPOILERS FOR BOOKS 1-3
*
*
*
*
There is nothing I hate more than reading a spoiler that isn’t disclosed. While I’m not giving anything away for this book, Dark Reunion, I can’t explain without revealing major things that happen in the other books.

It actually took me the first few chapters to remember and figure out what was happening from the last book.  Somehow I forgot Elena was dead.  I thought they were talking about her being dead but becoming a vampire.  But then I was confused because I thought they all knew she was a vampire.  I had to go back and read before I remembered that she died in the tomb.  Once I figured that part out, reading was a little easier.

Elena may be dead, but she is in no way silent.  She is visiting Bonnie in her dreams, warning her of a dark presence.  Bonnie is able to contact Stefan and Damon and bring them back to help defeat whatever is haunting the town.

I have to be honest, I was bored with much of this story.  The book finally got exciting towards the end.  About the last 5 or 6 chapters.  I wanted the story to be more exciting throughout, not just towards the end.  That being said, I liked the story as a whole.  I know that seems to make very little sense.  Let me try to explain a little better; the storyline was good, what happens is a good twist to the series, but I thought it wasn’t as well-executed as in the other books.  I was actually kind of disappointed at the way the series ended.  I thought there were many unanswered questions.

L.J. Smith has now come out with The Vampire Diaries: The Return series. In 2009 she came out with, Nightfall and Shadow Souls is available for pre-order before it’s release on March 16th 2010.  I was able to pull up the summary for Nightfall from www.vampirediaries.com :

Elena—once consigned to a fate beyond death—becomes much more than she once was. With powers and gifts bestowed upon her in the afterlife, she pulses with an overwhelming force that makes her irresistible to any vampire. New evils and old temptations await Elena, and the powerful vampire brothers who once protected her are challenged by a malevolent creature who wants Elena dead.

You can view sample chapters HERE.  The information for Shadow Souls can be found HERE on Amazon’s website, but I suggest you don’t read the summary unless you have already read Nightfall.  It appears to have spoilers.  One this I did notice is that the new books are a whopping 608 pages for Shadow Souls and 592 pages for Nightfall in the hardcover editions.  YIKES!  The other books were roughly half of that. 

~Jenn

Here are all my reviews so far.  You can also go to my ALL THINGS VAMPIRE DIARIES link on the upper left hand side for the most recent updates.

~ by jennifermorrill on February 12, 2010.

6 Responses to “Dark Reunion (The Vampire Diaries Book #4)~ Book Review”

  1. […] Dark Reunion, Book 4 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)The Vampire Diaries Season 1 Episode 4 Vampire Diaries Season 1 Episode 8 The Vampire Diaries Season 01 Episode 14 […]

  2. I’d heard that this book wasn’t as good as the first three, so I decided to stop at the trilogy. Kinda glad I did!

  3. […] Book 4, Dark Reunion […]

  4. I really liked book 1-3 but I thought they should of made book 3 the end of the series…
    I felt like they we’re draging it out to much..I don’t know maye that’s just me.I wish Elena wouldn’t have died but I guess it’s just a book but still did she really have to come back and invade Bonnie’s dream? lol

  5. mk nası kitap lan başka kitap çnerin

  6. so is dark reunion the last book of this series? i know there is the return series, i am very confused.

Leave a Reply

 
