Mansfield Park 2007 BBC TV Series~Review

Original Air Date (US) 27 January 2008
Directed by Iain B. MacDonald
Watched January 2010

Starring
Billie Piper as Fanny Price
Jemma Redgrave as Lady Bertram
Douglas Hodge as Sir Thomas Bertram
Maggie O’Neill as Mrs. Norris
Blake Ritson as Edmund Bertram
James D’Arcy as Tom Bertram
Michelle Ryan as Maria Bertram
Rory Kinnear as Rushworth
Catherine Steadman as Julia Bertram
Hayley Atwell as Mary Crawford
Joseph Beattie as Henry Crawford
Joseph Morgan as William Price
Stephen Tomlin as Baddeley

Review
I was supposed to have this completed in December for the Everything Austen Challenge at Stephanie’s Written Word in December. Better late than never right? I’m giving myself a break because of the rough December and November. You might think bedrest would have been great for my reading, blogging, and movie posting, but it didn’t happen that way.  I watched mindless TV and read some books, but it was really uncomfortable.  Using the computer for more than 30 minutes was pretty much im,possible.  So, enough whining from me, on to the review.

I have to be honest, I thought I had read all of Austen’s novels, but I have no recollection of Mansfield Park.  I vaguely recalled character names and basic plots, but nothing much.  I either read it so long ago that it doesn’t count or I gathered my vague knowledge of characters from reading the reviews of others.  Again, I can’t honestly say.

I was utterly bored with this movie.  Because I don’t remember reading the book, I can’t tell you if this was just a boring story.  I also have not seen any of the other film adaptations.  I had to make myself stay seated and watch the movie, fighting the urge to get up and clean the house.

The acting wasn’t bad.  Billie Piper has been a favorite of mine just from watching Doctor Who. (~sniffle~ No more David Tennant ~sniffle~)  Michelle Ryan had a stint on the short-lived Bionic Woman as well as the BBC mini-series Jekyll, which I loved, AND her own guest spot on Doctor Who.  Jemma Redgrave is niece to Lynn and Vanessa Redgrave.  I could go on and on.  My husband, who is British, and I always joke that there are only 10 actors in the whole of Britain.

I suppose I should actually read (or reread) the original novel, and I will do, when I get a new copy.  My Complete Works of Austen was lent to a coworker when I left the company, it was never to be seen from again.  Oh well, Austen is being enjoyed somewhere. 

~Jenn

My Challenge list

  • Austenland by Shannon Hale ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice BBC Miniseries
  • Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen ~completed~
  • Emma Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
  • Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson ~completed~
  • The Jane Austen Book Club Movie ~completed~
  • Becoming Jane Movie
  • Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange ~completed~
  • Northanger Abbey Movie Adaptation
  • Mansfield Park Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Bridget Jones’s Diary Movie- Extra Credit ~completed~
  • Clueless Movie Extra Credit! ~completed~
  • I have the new PBS version of Emma and Becoming Jane on my DVR so technically I can do some swapping around and count my extra credit as items and call this challenge complete once I watch and review those.  Woo hoo!

    ~ by jennifermorrill on January 26, 2010.

    3 Responses to “Mansfield Park 2007 BBC TV Series~Review”

    1. I like Piper but not in this movie. And don’t feel bad this would be my least favorite Austen novel. I really enjoyed Becoming Jane and thought Hathaway did a fantastic job.
      I also watched Miss Austen Regrets in December on my DVR and have yet to write the review. It was quite good, but sad. It may me cry just a bit.

    2. I’m so glad I’m not alone! Becoming Jane is next on my list. I will have to look for Miss Austen Regrets! Although I’m crying at telephone commercials right now so maybe I will wait until this little child is born!

    3. for me…Piper has done the job in this movie…he act looked professional now

    Leave a Reply

         
