Chosen (House Of Night #3)~ Book Review

By P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
Read January 2010

Paperback Edition
307 Pages
Published by St Martin’s Griffin
Genre~ Young Adult Paranormal Fiction. Paranormal Romance
ISBN 13~ 978 0 312 36030 6
Source~ Gift from my Secret Santa, Nikki at Ramblings of a Bibliophile VISIT HER!!

Rating~

 

 

 

 

I have previously stated in my review of Betrayed (HoN #2) and Marked (HoN #1), that I liked this series, but the teeny dialogue and inner monologue kind of bugged me.  Well, it still did in this book.  I know a lot of teenagers, and maybe it’s just the ones where I live, but they don’t talk like that.  However, if you cans set that aside like I was able to, then the underlying story is quite good!

In this installment of Zoey Redbird’s adventures as a fledgling vampyre, Zoey has some serious issues to deal with.  First, she has become, in her own words, “a bit of a ho-bag”.  She has not one, not two, but three boyfriends to juggle.  Heath her human ex-boyfriend who imprinted with her accidentally, Erik the fellow fledgling who is the coolest, nicest, handsome, and most popular boy in the House of Night, and Loren Blake the young and seriously hot, full vampyre professor.  It was bugging me for a while that Zoey seemed to feel guilty about all of this, but didn’t really seem to do anything about it.  Without revealing too much, doing things you shouldn’t be doing, generally catches up with you in the end.

One thing that I love is the strong Native American links this series has.  I think it is a wonderful twist to the vampyre tale.  Zoey’s grandmother is one of my favorite characters because of this.   She teaches Zoey and supports her where her mother will not.  Which brings me to more of Zoey’s family.  Her mother and step-father are deliciously horrible people.  Her mother is one of those spineless women who seems to want and need a man to hide behind and tell her what to think and how to think it.  Her step-father is a religious overachiever.  His way is the only way and if you don’t agree then you are wrong.  In Zoey’s situation, it seems exceptionally cruel.  They consider turning into a vampyre an evil choice, however, Zoey had no say in the matter.  She was marked, and if she didn’t go to the House of Night immediately, she would die.  Therefore, in their minds, Zoey is evil.  Pretty harsh.

This part of the series had a lot more graphic parts to it, both violent and sexual.  Actually I was surprised with how racy it got.  Again, doesn’t necessarily bother me, but I know it influences many people’s opinions on deciding to pick up a book or not.  There is more than just innuendo.

We get to see a lot more of the creature formerly known as Stevie Rae.  Zoey is desperately trying to find a way to save her, but her humanity, or what is left of it, is rapidly disappearing.  The storyline involving Stevie Rae was very interesting to me and I thought it was clever the way she began to embody the vampyre stereotypes that none of the true, adult vampyres in the book possess.

Overall, the good outweighed the bad in this book.  There are some major plot twists and turns that I did see trying to sneak in, but not right away.  I just caught on before Zoey did.  There were some hints things I picked up on for the next book as to who is behind some gruesome attacks, but I am not sure if I am right.  I still want to find out!  I’m glad I stuck with the series.  The first book was pretty good, the second was alright, and the third was the best thus far.  I will be picking up Untamed (#4),  Hunted (#5), and Tempted (#6), unless something changes. 

Thank you Nikki!!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on January 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
