Angels on Sunset Boulevard

by Melissa de la Cruz
Read between October 2009 and January 2010

Paperback Edition
230 Pages
Published by Simon Pulse
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 1 4169 3991 7
Source~ Self-Purchased second hand

Rating~

 

 

 

Ugh! Let’s see, I first opened this book and began reading it in hmm October, I think. It is now Mid-January and I forced myself to finish is. I hate to give up on a book, but I almost wish I would have.

The concept behind the book is good and original. TAP, or The Angels Practice is a Facebook/My Space type website with a twist. It is more like a cult, just for teens and young people. One of the biggest parts of TAP are the parties where a special narcotic/hallucinogenic drink is served to free them of their inhibitions among other things.  Like I said, I thought it was very original, I just wish it played out better.

The author, Melissa de la Cruz has written some very well-liked books, including, but not limited to her Blue Bloods series about vampires.  The writing in itself was good, descriptive, and easy-to-read.  Somewhere after the first couple of chapters it just got painfully boring for me to read.  There is a bit of mystery involving a missing rock star and some random missing kids, but I just didn’t care.  The characters who went missing weren’t major and I had no connection with them.

The most disappointing thing for me was the ending.  It just fell flat.  It seemed rushed and frantic and then just ended.  I felt there were so many loose ends that were just left.  I would have liked some things played out a bit more and explained.  We found some things out about Taj, the main female character, but it was all so rushed.  I would have liked to know more about what she was thinking and why certain things happened.  I don’t want to reveal too much, so I will leave it at that. 

Overall, good concept but poorly executed.  I have not turned off of this author completely though.  I have heard good things about many of her other books.  Although, some people who reviewed this book loved it.  Hmmm…whatever floats your boat I guess.  This just wasn’t for me.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on January 20, 2010.

One Response to “Angels on Sunset Boulevard”

  1. Too bad. I can’t drop a book so fast…well, unless I pay full price. Then I’ll force myself to read it. I think I’ll get back into paperback swap. I don’t feel so bad not reading those…lol.

Leave a Reply

 
