Her Fearful Symmetry~ Book Review

by Audrey Niffenegger
Read December 2009

Hardback Edition
401 Pages
Published by Simon and Schuster
Genre~ Paranormal Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 1 4391 6539 3
Source~ Won from a contest run by the publisher

Rating~

From the Publisher’s Weekly (on Amazon.com)~
Niffenegger follows up her spectacular The Time Traveler’s Wife with a beautifully written if incoherent ghost story. When Elspeth Noblin dies, she leaves everything to the 20-year-old American twin daughters of her own long-estranged twin, Edie. Valentina and Julia, as enmeshed as Elspeth and Edie once were, move into Elspeth’s London flat bordering Highgate Cemetery in a building occupied by Elspeth’s lover, Robert, and the novel’s most interesting character, Martin, whose wife is long suffering due to his crushing and beautifully portrayed OCD. (cut short to remove spoilers)  Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

It has taken me quite a while to write this review because, quite frankly, I didn’t know I felt about this book.  It was nothing like I expected it to be, which isn’t bad.  It was just, well, different.  I thought The Time Traveler’s Wife was quite different too, however, I knew immediately how I felt about that novel after reading it.

I think that one of the things that threw me off was that I didn’t want the book to take the turn that it did. It went from waiting and waiting for something to happen to weird.  The thing is, I couldn’t put it down despite how odd it got.  I had to keep going to find out what was going to happen next.

So where does that leave me?  I still don’t know.  Was it well written?  Yes.  Did it hold my interest?  Yes.  Was it unique and different?  Most certainly.  Did it end the way I wanted?  No.  So do I give it a bad rating because it didn’t end they way I wanted?  I don’t think that would be fair.  Besides, thats part of reading.  Everyone has a different idea in their head of what should happen.  You can’t please everyone all the time. 

I feel like this is kind of a crappy review, but this is one of those books that I can’t really talk about what happens without giving the whole story away.  It gets a 3.5/5 from me, which still means I liked it.  It just didn’t blow me away.  I would still recommend it.  In fact, my copy is going to a friend as soon as I finish this review!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on December 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Her Fearful Symmetry~ Book Review”

  1. Ugh, I am not a fan of this book! It did not hold my interest at all, despite being beautifully written. Your review captures exactly the “meh” feeling I had while reading Her Fearful Symmetry. Great job 🙂

  2. lol…Thank you! You got it! “meh” is exactly how I felt. The writing was gorgeous, the story was weird. It wasn’t bad, just not for me I suppose.

Leave a Reply

 
