Traitor~ Book Review courtesy of ‘The Husband’

by Andy McNab
read November 2009 by Kevin

Paperback Edition
263 Pages
Published by Speak (Penguin)
Original Publication date~ 2005
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction, YA Military Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 0 14 240727 1
Source~ Purchased new in store
Rating~

 

 

from the back cover
For seventeen-year-old Danny Watts, who is in training to become a soldier, a single news story is enough to shatter his dream: SAS TRAITOR MASTERMINDS PRISON BREAKOUT.  The traitor, Fergus Watts, is the grandfather Danny’s never met, the former SAS hero who betrayed his country, his regiment, and his comrades.  He was supposed to be dead, but apparently that is not the case.  And now that Fergus is on the loose, the family history is keeping Danny out of the military.  Determined not to lose his future, Danny knows he can track Fergus down and turn him in.  But how can a seventeen-year-old student find a man trained to avoid capture, expert at surveillance and covert operations?  The hunt is on…

I was so thrilled to see my husband read a book he enjoyed that I asked him to write a review for me. He grumbled a bit and eventually, I had a nicely written review in my email. Good husband. So here are his thoughts on Traitor:

Andy McNab (born 28 December 1959) is an English novelist and former SAS soldier who sprung to fame back in 1993 when he wrote, Bravo Two Zero. This was his account of a failed SAS patrol during the first Iraqi war. McNab, not his real name, was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal in 1991 for his part. Since writing Bravo Two Zero he has become a rather accomplished writer delivering 3 more nonfiction and I believe 16 fiction novels.

Before my immigration to the US, I became quite a fan of McNab’s work reading about 7 or 8 of his, “Nick Stone Missions.” Addicted to his style of writing from inside his own head explaining his thought process during these tense and gripping K operative exploits I felt completely transformed into the role myself.

Having taken such a long layoff from reading his work I found myself recently engrossed in one of his newer tales about his newly created characters, Danny & Fergus Watts. A grandson and grandfather team thrust together trying to prove the innocence of grandfather, Fergus’ past life as a K op turned bad in South America.

Obviously now McNab is writing about somebody else and so it took me a few chapters to get used to this but once the story started to really kick into gear I found myself again creating the pictures in my head and falling into the mission. Some great new characters have surfaced and I can see that McNab is going to have another successful string of books based around these guys….One thing to realize though with McNab is that you really don’t want to get too attached to any of his characters cause he really isn’t too afraid to kill any of them off to create extra raw emotion when engrossed in his tales.

I really liked this book even though I was convinced I wasn’t going to as I didn’t like the idea of him writing about a teenage protagonist. I was really upset that this book was filed under teenage fiction but I have to say that it was equally as exciting as the previous Nick Stone series and I will definitely be moving forward and reading more about Fergus and his grandson Danny. Let’s go to Borders…

~ by jennifermorrill on November 29, 2009.

3 Responses to “Traitor~ Book Review courtesy of ‘The Husband’”

  1. I’ve never heard of this author before. Now how did you get your husband to write a review? Is there some secret because just getting my hubby to talk about a book is like pulling teeth!

  2. Excellent review Husband. Be careful, this ay become habit forming 🙂
    I have never heard of this author either, so I’ll have to check him out at the library next time I am there.

  3. The author is british like my husband and I hadn’t heard of him either.

    Ladytink_534~ Not sure how I did it. He just emailed ne the review and I posted it.

    Jennygirl~ It took him about a month and a half to finish the book, so I don’t think he will get hooked too quickly. I did show him how to use a rss reader the other day though…who knows!!

Leave a Reply

 
