I’d Tell You I Love You But I’d Have to Kill You~ Book Review

by Ally Carter
read November 2009

Paperback Edition
284 Pages
Published by Hyperion
Original Publication date~ May 2006
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 1 423 10004 1
Source~ Purchased 2nd hand
Rating~

from the back cover:

Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school- typical, that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class.  The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses, but it’s really a school for spies.

Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man several different ways with her bare hands, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she is an ordinary girl.  Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real “pavement artist”- but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?

The story has been told many times before; boy and girl meet, one of them lies to the other about themselves, the other finds out, it ends in crying.  “I don’t know who you really are!”  The idea is not new, but the details are.  Cammie is your average spy-in-training, if such a thing exists.  She meets Josh and can’t tell him about who she is and what she does, so she does what any sensible girl would do, she lies.  ~sigh~ don’t these people read?!?!  You ALWAYS get found out!  

Overall, the writing was on the juvenile side, however, I feel that is the target audience.  It is directed at young teens and preteens.   The topic of two sub-genre’s in the Young Adult genre has been more and more frequent.  This would be one of those books that would be on the younger level.  Don’t mistake this for me not liking the book, I really did.  It was a good change from vampires!  It was a good, fun, clean read, but it might not meet the expectations of someone looking for something a bit more edgy.

I read that Disney has bought the rights to this movie for projected release in 2012.  I think it would be a very cute movie.  I can see my daughter LOVING it.  The next books in the series are, Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy and Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover.

~Jenn

*photos from www.allycarter.com

P.s. I totally forgot to mention that the story takes plkace in Roseville, Virginia….and I am amused because I grew up in, and live 5 minutes from, Roseville, California.  It’s just not a very common town name.  Ahhhh…the little things that amuse me!

~ by jennifermorrill on November 20, 2009.

4 Responses to “I’d Tell You I Love You But I’d Have to Kill You~ Book Review”

  1. i loved this read because of the spy stuff. so cute and intriguing.

  2. velvet~ I think that is a good way to describe it, cute. It was a funny, cute story that I feel will translate well into a Disney tween movie.

  3. Looks like a fun YA. I am going to get into more of these reads in 2010

  4. Are you doing J. Kaye’s YA Challenge?

Leave a Reply

 
