Vampire Diaries- The Fury~ Book Review

by L.J. Smith
Read November 2009

Paperback two-book Edition (Review is for The Fury only)
245 Pages (Whole book is 520)
Published by Harper Teen
Original Publication date~
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance
ISBN 13~ 978 0 06 114098 3
Source~ Purchased in store
Rating~

stars-4

 

 

 

 

from the back cover
LOVE CAN KILL

Elena: transformed, the golden girl has become what she once feared and desired.

Stefan: tormented by losing Elena, he’s determined to end his feud with Damon once and for all – whatever the cost.  But slowly, he begins to realize his brother is not his only enemy.

Damon: at last, he possesses Elena.  But will his thirst for revenge against Stefan poison his triumph?  Or can they come together to face one final battle?

How’s that for a lame summary? 

I was going to save it and do both books together because in my copy, they are bound together, but in the end I decided to do one and then the other.  They really are two separate books, and it’s my blog and I say I’m doing them separately.

I also had not planned on reading another vampire book for at least a week.  I was feeling a little “over vamped”.  Unfortunately, after getting half-way through I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter, it vanished.  Still haven’t found that little bugger.  So then I picked up Dan Browns, The DaVinci Code.  I read the first two chapters and left it in my car.  It was cold and I wasn’t going out there, so Vampire Diaries it was.

Now that you know the long, drawn-out story as to why I read this book, I suppose I can get to my review.

So here goes:

The fury might be my favorite out of the Vampire Diaries series so far.  To me, it is the only one that had a solid ending.  There was more action going on in this novel than the others, and also a bigger mystery.  I have to admit, I was thrown for a loop.

Elena was killed in the last book, The Struggle.  Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, because she had both been bitten and fed from Damon and Stefan she becomes a vampire.  In the beginning she is lost and confused and tries to kill Stefan.  Damon is actually very kind to her and could take advantage of the situation, but does not.  He brings her diary to her as she requests and wah-la….her memory is cured and she knows she loves Stefan again.  Something quite cheesy in that, but oh well.

Elena realizes there is an Other Power at work.  There is something more in Fell’s Church than just Damon, Stefan, and Elena.  Something much bigger and more dangerous.  Elena must convince Stefan and Damon to work together with her to figure out who, or what it is.

I thought the ending was great.  The discovery of the Other Power, as I said before, totally threw me.  The way the characters work together and the sacrifice that is made is perfect.  I did have a few things I questioned in the book.  on page 69 (okay…no jokes) it repeats the sentence, “something strange in Fell’s Church” twice on the same page, in the last two paragraphs.  Is it a big deal, no.  Did it bug me, yes.  Do things bother me too easily, very possible. 🙂 Next, in chapters 10 and 11, the townspeople are after Stefan.  Damon begins to rescue him, but Elena gets there in the nick of time and grabs the gun away from Mr. Smallwood.  Now, I was under the impression that Elena didn’t want to be seen my the town because she was supposed to be dead.  nothing is said about these people seeing her and nothing seems to come from it.  Everyone just forgets the saw her I guess.  Seeing a dead person might stick in my memory.  So, despite those little things, I enjoyed it.

I’m afraid of what book 4 will bring.  Book 3 ended so nicely, I just don’t want it all to get cheesy!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on November 17, 2009.

11 Responses to “Vampire Diaries- The Fury~ Book Review”

  1. […] Read the original here: Vampire Diaries- The Fury~ Book Review « Between the Lines […]

  2. […] Read more from the original source: Vampire Diaries- The Fury~ Book Review « Betwee&#11… […]

  3. […] more here:  Vampire Diaries- The Fury~ Book Review « Between the Lines AKPC_IDS += "1740,";Popularity: unranked […]

  4. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  5. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  6. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  7. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  8. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  9. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  10. […] Book Three, The Fury […]

  11. Yaa.. the book was messed up a little.. lolz!! but it was awsome!

Leave a Reply

 
