It’s Monday Again. My Planned Week in Books.

You know, I always forget to add in here that I borrowed this idea from J. Kaye at J. Kaye’s Book Blog and then tweaked it a little.  Please go and see her meme, because it’s WAAAAY better than what I post here.  So, a bit of history behind my Monday post, I like her idea of “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading”  but I wanted the freedom to ramble a bit on my own stuff without messing up her meme.  Honestly, it helps me focus on my week.  It rarely turns out as planned!

So here ya go….my booky week:

Books Bought
nuffin!

Books Received
Royal Blood by Rona Sharon~ Recieved from J. Kaye’s Book Blog.

Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange~ Won at Miss Remmer’s Review

Books Borrowed
nada!

Books Read
I’d Tell You I Love You But I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter~ This is a younger YA most definitely.  J. Kaye was talking about this on her blog.  Her daughter Nona is 13 and reads YA too.  We were discussing how there really is such an extreme variance in the YA genre.  On this same subject, The Book Smugglers announced that there is buzz about a new genre, New Adult.  Read their post HERE.  Despite it being young, I still enjoyed it.  It was a cute, fun read.

 

The Vampire Diaries- The Struggle by L.J. Smith~ Really enjoyed this!  Review will be up soon.

Books Won
I won a signed copy each of Retribution, Legacy, The Watcher, The Becoming, and Blood Drive by Jeanne C. Stein at Bitten by Books

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl ~I won this book as a Top Commenter at J. Kaye’s Book Blog  I’m really looking forward to this one.  I thought it didn’t come out until next month, so I’m extra-excited.  J. Kaye is finished, so as soon as her daughter takes a stab at it.  I love the cover art of this book too. 

Awards
I received some awards this week, but it was late in the week and I need a bit of time to get through them.

Books Lined Up
The Vampire’s Assistant by Darren Shan~ Even though I have all three, I’m only reading the first one.  Haven’t seen the movie yet, but saw mixed reviews.  I know I will see it.  Most likely will wait for video though.  Movie prices are ridiculous now!  Went went on Vetran’s day at matinee and it was $10.75/adult and $6.75/child.  Holy schmoley!

The Otherworldlies by Jennifer Anne Kogler ~ This has been sitting on my shelf so a loooong time.  I thought it deserved a turn.  It sounds like it has potential.  Here is the Product Description from Amazon:  Fern communicates with her dog, blisters from just moments in the sun, and has correctly predicted the daily weather for more than two years. Even so, she’s always seemed to be a normal twelve-year-old girl . . . until one day when Fern closes her eyes in class and opens them seconds later on a sandy beach miles away from school. When Fern disappears again, this time to a place far more dangerous, she begins to realize exactly how different she is.

With the help of her twin brother, Sam, Fern struggles to gain control of her supernatural powers. The arrival of a sinister vampire in town—who seems to have an alarming interest in Fern’s powers—causes Fern to question her true identity. Who is she? More importantly, who can she count on? Soon Fern finds herself in the middle of a centuries-old battle—one that could destroy Fern and endanger everyone she loves.

 Fire by Kristin Cashore~ SOOOOO Excited to get to this one!!!!  I bought it right after I finished Graceling, which I LOVED.  At first I thought it was a true prequel, but now that I have it and have skimmed the back cover, I know it is truly a “companion” novel.  It takes place some 30 or so years before Graceling.  There is really only one cross-over character.  It is not necessary to read one before the other.

Big news coming next week…

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on November 16, 2009.

5 Responses to “It’s Monday Again. My Planned Week in Books.”

  1. Oh Beautiful Creatures I just read about that somewhere and it sounds good. I’ll be looking for your review.

  2. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. This is certainly the fourth article, of your
    site I read. Yet I really enjoy this particular one, “Its Monday Again.
    My Planned Week in Books. Between the Lines” the very best.
    Thank you ,Soon

  4. Normally I don’t learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  5. Wow, this piece of writing is fastidious, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, thus I am going
    to inform her.

Leave a Reply

 
