Vampire Academy~ Book Review

by Richelle Mead
Read October 2009

vampireacademyPaperback Edition
332 Pages
Published by Razorbill (an imprint of Penguin)
Original Publication Date~ 2007
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Adventure
ISBN 13~ 978 1 59514 174 3
Source~ Purchased in Store
Rating~

stars-4

 

 

I feel so bad for this book. I pulled an “I-don’t realize-how-much-my-behind-is-growing-after-eating-all-the-halloween-candy” move and turned around next to the table and my behind knocked a glass of water all over the coffee table where brand new Vampire Diaries was sitting. I grabbed it pretty quick, but not before some of the pages were waterlogged. I was thinking of ironing it to straighten them out, but I don’t want to hurt my poor little book more than I already have.

On to the book…

from the back cover
ONLY A TRUE BEST FRIEND CAN PROTECT YOU FROM YOUR IMMORTAL ENEMIES
     Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi: the fiercest vampires- the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rosse Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.
     After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa and caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger…and the Strigoi are always close by.
     Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever…

In the beginning, this book seemed like it could have taken a tone that I wasn’t going to enjoy. I recently read The House of Night books one and two and it was very…young. I was afraid this book was going to go there as well. Don’t get me wrong, I like young sometimes. But I wasn’t sure I could take three series about young female vampires going to vampire school.  In addition to Vampire Academy, I recently read Vamps by Nancy A. Collins and the above mentioned House of Night books.  All about young vampire girls going to high school.

The main character, Rose, is what made Vampire Academy stand apart from the other two. Rose is a rebel, but she is a likeable character.  Rose is a dhampir, and in her world, that means she is born to protect the Moroi, the vampire royalty. It is because of this upbringing that she is strong-willed and a bit obstinate.

The other winning thing this novel has, is the creative imagination of the author. The vampire world and society she created is not your normal living dead, blood-sucking story.  Or, in many recent books, the ‘good’ vampire that doesn’t feed on humans.  There is blood-sucking, and everyone is okay with it.  Heck, they are vampires right?!  In Richelle Mead’s creation, there are three main types of vampires.  The Moroi, who are the vampire royalty, descend from eastern european families.  The dhampirs, the sometimes illegitimate children of a Moroi parent and a dhampir parent.  The dhampirs are stronger and faster than the Moroi, and as such, they serve as their guardians, keeping them safe from the Strogoi.  The Strogoi are the true undead.  They are the baddies of the story.  They are made, not born.

I nearly put this book down due to a spelling error on pg 142.  Ugh.  “They lit up his face.  Gorgeous no longer describrd him.” ugh…simple spell-check could have caught that!  I don’t mind slight grammatical errors.  Heck, I make them constantly.  Spelling errors just really bother me in books I have paid for.  It’s obviously a typo, not an intentional mistake, but it still really bothers me.  That is what editors and proof-readers are for.  I may have had a mini temper-tantrum regarding the confusion of ‘r’ and ‘e’.  Maybe. 🙂

I am glad I kept going after the near unforgivable offense.  The book turned out to be really good.  The book didn’t turn out anything like I thought it would, and thats a good thing.  Predictable is NOT good.

One thing that I think readers should be aware of is some of the language and suggestive scenes.  It doesn’t bother me, but I feel it might offend some people, especially since it is a YA book.

Overall, a very enjoyable read.  I will be picking up the next book in the series, <i>Frostbite</i> as soon as I can.  I am very excited to read the next in the series.

Please note, this book very nearly got a 3 from me due to the spelling error.  I sat and thought about it and I just couldn’t let that effect what I thought of everything else.  Not that a 3 is bad from me.  I finally settled on the 4 stars you see above.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on November 9, 2009.

14 Responses to “Vampire Academy~ Book Review”

  1. I get really irritated with typos too, and grammatical mistakes as well. But the book sounds good. Vampires who prey on humans are usually made out to be the bad guys, but isn’t that what a vampire does?

  2. […] more here: Vampire Academy~ Book Review « Between the Lines By admin | category: school academy | tags: deep, guardians, inside-the-iron, iron, […]

  3. Must make sure my comments don’t have typos. You know they usually do 🙂

    Anyway, I’ve been on the fence about this series, because I feel the same as you. These book are getting to be so similar, predictable, and too young. (NO we are not getting old).
    But this one sounds different, unpredictable, and enjoyable, despite the typo. I’ll be adding this to the list.

    Sorry your hubby didn’t like baseball. It is pretty slow compared to his normal sports. Thanks for the solidarity though 🙂

  4. Hazra~ Apparently there were a few more than the one I noticed. I think I was tuning it out. I feel the same way. Vampires are beings that feed on humans…thats what happens! In this story, the Moroi do feed on humans, they just don’t kill them. The Strogoi are killers.

    jennygirl~ I will continue to be 29.99 plus shipping and handling for a while. This book, in my opinion, was 10x better than The House of Night. To be fair to both series, I have only read book 1 and 2 of HoN and just this first book in this series. By the way, if your comments have typos I don’t care…I didn’t pay for them!!!!

  5. lol Love it!
    Yea, wasn’t impressed by HON book 1 either. Please my mom wants to go see New Moon, and I gotta tell ya, I’m so not feeling it. I’m vamped out, and the more I think about Twilight….well lets just say if I said what I wanted to, people would throw eggs at me 🙂

  6. Ugh! I have to read this series!

  7. You cracked me up with the whole Halloween candy story…. lol. I have been interested in this book but have not read a lot of vampire books myself…. so many.

  8. I wasn’t really in the mood when I read this so I didn’t particularly enjoy it. I plan on going back and re-reading it before I review.

  9. Wanted to pop in and say that I finally watched the Vampire Diaries! Well, the pilot. 😉 Loved it!

  10. Bookjourney~ hilarious, but unfortunately true story. As for Vampire books, I’ve enjoyed this series so far. I just read The Vampire Diaries which was pretty good too.

    Ladytink_534~ I can see where you would have to be in the right mood for this book. Out of the vampire books….I thought it was one of the better, more thought-out ones.

    J. Kaye~ Finally!! 🙂 I’m slacking on my VD tv post this week. hehehe I can’t call it VD, I’ve got to think of something else to shorten it to.

  11. Jenn, Got one better. I watched ep 2 and 3 last night. 😉 I am slowly catching up!

  12. i love dimitri !!

  13. I found two other spelling errors, in one instance the word pored is used instead of poured, and I have to say I was pretty certain she wasn’t speaking about dermatology. That irritated me to no end, did anyone read this book before it was stuck on shelves?

  14. I recently read the first book, Vampire Academy, because my cousin suggested it. After I seen a second error and threw my tantrum, I took note of all the errors I found in the book. I wasn’t even trying and I found twelve. Pages 47, 60, 78,132,142,184, 208, 213, 237, 253, 271,& 307. In case anyone wants to double check. 😉 Besides that though, I really like it so far.

Leave a Reply

 
