It’s Monday, My Week in Books

As anyone who reads my blog regularly will know, I had a REALLY bad book week last time I posted.  Every book I picked up made me want to throw it at the wall.  It was actually depressing!  I revived myself with Pride and Prejudice and then began Graceling by Kristin Cashore. 

Whew!  I am so glad I am back on track.  Graceling was AMAZING!  My review will be up soon.

Books Bought
Fire ARC Dial for blogger

Fire by Kristin Cashore

 

furydarkreunion

 

The Vampire Diaries; The Fury and Dark Reunion by L.J. Smith

 

traitor

 

Traitor by Andy McNab

And some random puppy/dog books my kids picked up.  Two chapter books, something about puppy magic and The Pokey Little Puppy, a classic Golden Book.

I actually had Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick in my hands along with Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, but I couldn’t bring myself to pay $17.99 for 3 different books in one go.  I grabbed The Fury and The Dark Reunion instead since I needed/wanted to read them for a while.

Books Recieved
Solemate by Lauren Mackler~ I won this book in a quickie Twitter giveaway at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.    I  will be honest, I solematesaw “Quickie Giveaway” and jumped on it without reading what it was about!  I remember thinking, “Hrm…I wonder why they spelled soulmate wrong?”  Annoyingly enough, my husband figured it out first go.  Grrr 

So, this is a self-help book.  Something which I usually steer clear of.  It is subtitled, “Master the Art of Aloneness & Transform Your Life“.  I can’t think of the last time I was alone.  Seriously.  I can’t even shower alone usually! 

Twisted Fayrie Tales by various authors~ I won this book over at Bitten by Books.  Eternal Press Publishers offered up twisted fayrie talesa free eBook in several contests.  The book includes: Sinderella by Lisa Logon,  Man Hunt by Sally Odgers, The Christmas Present by Lisa Logan, Mirror, Mirror by Rob Rosen, Rapunzel by Yu-Han Chao, How Cats Lost the Power of Speech by Joshua Babcock, It Can’t be Mine by Jane Toombs, Three Twisted Fairytails by Kandy Phair, Pebbles in the Stream by Richard E. Friesen, Cinders by Karina L. Fabian, Angel  With an Attitude by D. J. Sylvis, I Holler Hot Dog by Jane Toombs.

Some of these short stories are considered erotica, which I can say is something I have never had much interest in reading.  I have a feeling I will be reading and blushing.

Neither are books I would necessarily buy for myself, but I like to exapnd my little tiny comfort zone, so we will see!

Books Read

Not too many!  Lol…it was a very busy week.  Even though I really wanted to do nothing else but read Graceling.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore~ I’m stealing a phrase from J. Kaye at J. Kaye’s Book Blog, “It was OMG good”

Pride and Prejudice  by Jane Austen~ I need an ‘I ♥ Mr. Darcy’ t-shirt.  He’s an arrogant ass, but I am drawn to him.  And yes, I know he is a character in a book!  My husband once said to me, “I think you are having a mental affair with Mr. Darcy.”  Hmmm…if only.  Lol!

Books Won

I was lucky enough to be one of the Monthly Raffle Winner’s over at J. Kaye’s book blog.  I won a copy of Royal Blood by Rona Sharon.  I’m so excited because I have wanted to read this for a while now!

I also lucked out and won a copy of Blood Drive by Jeanne C. Stein at Bitten by Books.  I’ve never heard of it….but what the heck!

Awards
I recieved the Perfect Blend of Friendship Award frm J. Kaye at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.

Perfect Blend of Friendship Award

Here is the award info:

Take time today and think about your friends. This award is to be passed on to five of your book blogging friends.

Here are my 5 choices:

  1. velvet at vv32reads
  2. Jenny at Jenny Loves to Read
  3. Bookjourney
  4. Heather at Gofita’s Pages
  5. Sharon at A Bookworm’s Review

~Jenn

p.s. I’ve been working on this stinkin post all day long!  Between kids, work, dogs, and husband, I keep getting interrupted and lose my train of thought!  If there are typos or things that don’t make sense, I am sorry.

~ by jennifermorrill on November 2, 2009.

6 Responses to “It’s Monday, My Week in Books”

  1. Traitor by Andy McNab looks good!

  2. The Hunger Games is an amazing book you should read it

    http://Themockingjay.vndv.com

    http://themockingjay.vndv.com

  3. What a pretty award! Congrats to you hon!

  4. First off, ha-ha on the self help book. I can say that because I am your frined and that’s what friends do. (Thanks for the award girlie! I hope you know the feeling is mutual.) I would have jumped all over that quickie contest too, without reading. I just get so excited to win something. but I feel for you, because I would not read a self help book. I’ll expand my comfort zone in other ways.

    I really liked Royal Blood and hope you do too. I’ll keep an eye out for that.

    Thanks again for the award. I totally feel the same about you. There are some people you just connect with and you are one of those people.

  5. J. Kaye~ Judging by the dreams of espionage by my husband, I’d say it’s pretty good. I can deduce from the sleep-talking that it has something to do with British special forces and being chased by someone. 🙂 I will have to read it and let you all know. Or maybe make him write a review. That would be interesting!

    JensBookTalk~ Thank you!

    jennygirl~ lol! My mom actually has it right now. She recent;y got divorced and I suppose she needs to “Master the Art of Aloneness”. I, however, would kill for some aloneness. I am also really looking forward to Royal Blood. It was actually your blog that I first heard about it!

  6. Oh cool! I’m glad I could be of some assistance. Sorry to hear about your mom, but like you, I would love some aloneness. Don’t get me wrong, I love my hubby, but being alone is not sso bad. My mom feels the same too. I think women can be more independent than men.

Leave a Reply

 
