Pride and Prejudice~ Book Review

by Jane Austen

Read again October 2009

pride-and-prejudiceeBook Edition
1115 Pages (including preface and introduction by Carol Howard)
Published by Barnes and Noble Classics
Original Publication date~ 1813
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction, Adult Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 1 59308 201 7
Source~ Free eBook download included with Barnes and Noble eReader
Rating~

stars-5

 

 

I had forgotten how much I like Pride and Prejudice.  I mean I’ve read it a bunch of times, I know I like it a lot, I’ve seen to movie adaptations, but I forgot how happy it makes me to read it.  It saved me last week.  I had given up on books.  Every book I picked up disappointed me.  I hate  not finishing, so then I get more and more frustrated.  I usually can put a book down that isn’t interesting me and read something else, then return and finish.  I just couldn’t do that this week.

I downloaded the free eReader from Barnes and Noble and along with it came this and several other eBooks.  I am new to the whole eBook thing, but this was a good stepping stone for me.

Mrs. Bennet seems to have nothing else on her mind but marrying off her daughters.  It was a different time and being a family of five daughters, none of them would inherit their father’s estate.  That would go to another male relative.  In the Bennet’s case, their cousin, Mr. Collins.  Even though the book is set in a time when marrying off your children and hoping to marry for wealth was necessary, Mrs. Bennet seems a little preoccupied with it.  More so than anyone else.

Mr. Bennet is one of my favorite characters.  The way he tolerates his wife’s well-intentioned muddling is fantastic.  Elizabeth and Darcy are strong-willed and delightfully written.  The romantic tension between them is thrilling to read, even though I know what is going to happen!

My eBook version had an index with a quick-jump feature to look up phrases or words that are not common anymore.  I have to say, I can be lazy when I am reading and I tend to use context to give me hints to what a word means.  I rarely go and grab a dictionary or look up something online.  To my surprise (sort of), I didn’t have a good understanding of a lot of the words.

I know that Jane Austen may not have intended to take me back to Regency era England, only to write a romance, but I am continually drawn in and swept away by a book that was written nearly 200 years ago.  I know, I’m swooning.  To me, there are some fantastic novels out there.  Very well-written.  Very appealing.  But there will only be one Jane Austen and I will always be impressed with her writing and characters.

On another note, while I was at Barnes and Noble this weekend, I saw their B & N leather-bound Classics collections and very nearly bought myself a new set of all seven Austen books.  I let a co-worker borrow mine and I no longer work there and my Austen never made its way back.  I suppose I could track it down, but, I won’t.

Although some people might find Austen’s work dated, and maybe even a bit hard to read, I definitely feel that everyone should read Austen at least once in their life.  It most certainly deserves its place along with other classics.

~Jenn

This book was read mostly to get me out of my reading funk, however, I am swapping this for Emma in my Everything Austen Challenge at Stephanie’s Written Word.  I might still read Emma, just not right now.

Here is my progress so far:

everythingausten2

Everything Austen Challenge is hosted by Stephanie’s Written Word.

The Challenge~ Read/watch and blog about 6 Austenesque books/movies/miniseries between June and December 2009.  BONUS~ read/watch 12 Austenesque books/movies/miniseries…or two a month instead of one!

My Challenge List

  • Austenland by Shannon Hale ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice BBC Miniseries
  • Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Emma Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith (I might swap this out for Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange.  I won it as part of this challenge.)
  • Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson ~completed~
  • The Jane Austen Book Club Movie ~completed~
  • Becoming Jane Movie
  • Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange ~completed~
  • Northanger Abbey Movie Adaptation
  • Mansfield Park Movie Adaptation
  • Bridget Jones’s Diary Movie- Extra Credit 🙂 ~completed~
  • Clueless Movie Extra Credit! ~completed~
~ by jennifermorrill on October 27, 2009.

18 Responses to “Pride and Prejudice~ Book Review”

  1. […] the original post: Pride and Prejudice~ Book Review « Between the Lines Tags: 59308-201, carol, noble, noble-classics, prejudice, reader-rating, young, […]

  2. watch full movies online for free without registration on watchonlinemoviesnow.net

  3. Hi! I’m planning on reading this book next year for one of my challenges. I’m glad that you like it, that makes it desirable to read it.

    You asked about suspense & thriller authors at J. Kayes. Here are a few of mine: Iris Johansen, Nevada Barr, C. J. Box, Patricia Cornwell, David Baldacci, Tami Hoag, Laura Joh Rowland, James Lee Burke, Sue Grafton, Donna Andrews, Anne George…… I hope this was helpful!

    I like your blog!

  4. Sharon~ For me, P & P is one of those books I can read again and again. I hope you like it!

    Thank you so much for the push in the right direction for the suspense and thriller books! I am so lost. I tried searching through the big online book stores and I’m coming up empty. I don’t know where certain books fall. J. Kaye’s challenge wants us to choose from 12 different sub-genre’s. I’m going to look up the authors you suggested. REALLY…THANK YOU!

  5. I have to finish reading this one! AND I have to get working on this challenge – looks like you are doing well with this! 🙂

  6. I’m in the process of reading it again! Congrats on your challenge! I finished early in October, but am still adding them up!

  7. Bookjourney~ I’m slowly but surely getting to the finish line.

    Heather~ Congrats on finishing! I am trying to pace myself! I would love to sit and read jsut Austen stuff. I’m trying to relish it by spreading it out!

  8. P&P is always a book I can go back to when everything else fails, too! You’re doing a great job on the challenge!

  9. Austen always gets me out of my reading funk too. It’s like having coffee and a chat with an old friend. You are doing so well on the Austen Challenge. Good for you. Great job.
    I on other hand….lets not go there 🙂

  10. […] Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen ~completed~ […]

  11. What skin care product I should use to make skin beautiful.
    Take good care of yourself. Cucumber is another powerful ingredient that
    helps fight oily skin.

  12. Here are my thoughts on the Durabrand Waffle Maker.
    This is a recipe for a Belgian waffle that is truly a
    sweet, sumptuous and nutty concoction. For scrambled eggs, add the eggs to the
    pie iron and close, holding over the campfire until eggs are done.

  13. There are several ways you can change a valve spring without removing the heads.
    It is also great to watch a movie under the stars on a bright screen LCD TV.
    AFCThe purpose of this device is to generate electrical power
    by using the lifting power of air rising in water.

  14. In order to keep an electric shaver performing
    its best, proper maintenance of the product is a must.
    Face it (pun intended), it’s probably worth getting the Braun 790cc shaver if only to make mornings more comfortable. (You any wash your face first with a shaving wash and put pre-shaving lotion or cream if you want to.

  15. Due to the increasing availability of the application of the net
    along with a huge group of individuals marketing things
    online, it becomes easy for you. Chainsaws are a powerful and potentially dangerous piece of gardening equipment, and if you do
    not spend a little time choosing the appropriate
    machine for your needs they could also turn out pretty costly.
    To ensure the safety of the user and the machine, these devices generally have a safety harbor shield around the motor to prevent any mishap.

  16. Purchasing a Porter Cable saw is definitely a worthwhile investment.
    A circular saw blade has a saw teeth and a machine that
    spins the disk. However, along with their usefulness
    comes the potential for injury.

  17. Tip 3 – Before you use each tool make sure that the appropriate amount of
    lubricant has been added before you use it. However if you do
    not need to bring it to another area then there is no need for
    a portable one. Never look down your air line as you are opening it.

  18. The fast food business is a fast growing and very challenging means of entering the market.

    The different culinary preparations are usually characterized by lots of
    vegetables, pulses and spices. The best
    way to order a pizza is to use your cell phone.

Leave a Reply

 
