Break~ Book Review

by Hannah Moskowitz
Read October 2009

Paperback Edition
272 Pages (per Amazon)
Published by Simon Pulse
Genre~ Young Adult Fiction
ISBN 13~ 978 1 4169 8224 1
Source~ ARC won from Kristen at Bookworming in the 21st Century
Rating~

stars-5

 

 

from the back cover~

Seventeen-year-old Jonah is on a mission to break every bone in his body. Everyone knows that broken bones grow breakback stronger than they were before. And Jonah wants to be stronger-needs to be stronger-because everything around him is falling apart. Breaking, and then healing, is Jonah’s only way to cope with the stresses of home, girls, and the world on his shoulders.

When Jonah’s self-destructive spiral accelerates and he hits rock bottom, will he find true strength or surrender to his breaking point?

Wow. I read this whole book before reading the little “about the author” at the end of the book. If they hadn’t told me, I would have never guessed the author was STILL IN HIGH SCHOOL!?!

I was so pleasantly surprised with this book. I didn’t think I was going to like it at all. It just didn’t sound like something I would be in to. A boy who wants to break all of his bones to become stronger? I decided to give it a go because Ordinary Ghosts was boring the beegeezus out of me and I needed something different. I also thought I’ve been reading so much paranormal stuff right now, a more realistic fiction book might be a nice change. I was blown away at how much this book struck me.

Jonah is such a real character. Moskowitz captures the mind-set of what I feel a self-harmer would be. I’ve always thought that you’ve got to be pretty looney to want to hurt yourself to feel better. The way Jonah has so much depth to his character is just…well..amazing.

There is a very large psychological element to the book.  Not as in a psychological thriller kind of way…but more of a ‘what the heck is going on in this guys head’ kind of way.  I think it is captured well.  Jonah, and his family, are a bit nutty.  It is a hard thing to capture for a veteran author, and an amazing thing for a debut novel of a 17-year old!  Many times it comes off as unbelievable.  Moskowitz’s writing captures the family dynamics perfectly.  There are strong realtionships between the characters.  Some healthy, some not.

One thing that might deter some readers is the use of profanity, however, show me a group of average 17-year-old boys where you hear no profanity.  I didn’t feel that the language was unnecessary as I have in other novels.  Sometimes I feel that the language adds nothing to the story, this is not the case in Break

The plot, characters, and storyline were very enjoyable.  I will definitely be keeping my eyes out for future novels from this author.  I can only imagine what will come flowing from her creativity as she becomes more experienced and continues writing.

Thank you to Kristen at Bookworming in the 21st Century for passing on this ARC to me through one of her cool giveaways.

One last note, the ARC I read is only 262 pages and Amazon has the book listed at 272 pages.  I’m hoping I didn’t miss 10 pages of stuff!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on October 14, 2009.

7 Responses to “Break~ Book Review”

  1. […] the original: Break~ Book Review « Between the Lines Tags: 21st, 4169-8224, amazon, bookworming, hannah-moskowitz, kristen, kristen-at-bookworming, […]

  2. Thanks so much for the review, Jenn 🙂

  3. You are quite welcome! I was very impressed!

  4. I’ve seen this book! I almost picked it up and then changed my mind. I’ll get it added to my list so that next time, I won’t hesitate.

  5. J. Kaye~ I almost didn’t read it either. I’m so glad I did. I hope you like it as much as I did!

  6. Wow, such a rave review for a book written by someone in high school?? I’m definitely going to have to check this one out.

  7. Love The Vampire Diaries!I just found your blog! Nice!

Leave a Reply

 
