Vamps~ Book Review

by Nancy A. Collins
Read October 2009

VampsPaperback Edition
222 Pages
Published by Harper Teen
Genre~ Paranormal, Vampires, Young Adult Fiction/Fantasy
ISBN 13~ 978 0 06 134917 1
Rating~

stars-3

 

 

From the back cover~
Night school never looked so good.

When the sun goes down, New York’s true elite all head to one place: Bathory Academy, where the young ladies of the finest vampire families are trained in shapeshifting and luring their prey.

Only Bathory’s reigning queen Lilith Todd, is the daughter of a powerful vampire businessman, and she knows exactly what she wants from life. She wants to look beautiful for eternity and party till the sun comes up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Jules. And she doesn’t want any New Blood upstarts standing in her way.

Enter Cally Monture, an unexpected threat from a trash zip code. When their first meeting leads to tragic results, Lilith is hungry for revenge.

I could tell from the first page that this was not going to be a literary masterpiece. Nonetheless, I enjoyed it. It is DEFINATELY a teen book and that being said, I think a lot of teens would really enjoy it. It was very…Beverly Hills 90210 meets vampires. There is a lot of naughty stuff going on, it is very soap opera-like, but a quick and easy read.

I think somewhere we discussed it as being ‘escapism’ writing. Something you didn’t have to think much about, and could lose yourself in the book. To me, much like watching a TV program or a movie.

The character Lilith was naughty, but still likeable.  She is a spoiled vampire, daddy’s girl, but there is something that makes you want to know more about her.  Cally Monture is also an intriguing character.  She comes from a different background than Lilith and it was interesting to see the different types of vampires in this author’s vision.

I wasn’t fond of the overuse of brand names throughout the book. Prada glasses, Jimmy Cho Shoes, Gucci this, Dolce and Gabbana that.  It was just name dropping.  I realize the author was trying to set the background of the characters so you realize they are well-off.  I just thought it was too much.  I also didn’t like the way the characters were introduced with their first and last names.  It seemed forced.  For example, “Lilith spotted her promised, Jules de Laval.” Then in the same paragraph, “…chatting with Tanith Graves, one of her best friends.”  It just annoyed me.  If they aren’t a major character, do I really need their full names?  (Oh yeah…yes, there are characters named Lilith and Tanith…I laughed!)  Another thing, I don’t think some of the wording used by the author was thought-out.  In one place the author uses, “He needed to see her again like a tiger needs to quench it’s thirst.”  Hrmmmm.  Like a tiger??  Really??  Similes and metaphors can be hard sometimes to use appropriately in writing, but come on!

I enjoyed not thinking while I read.  As I said before, it is very much a teen book.  Some guilty little pleasure was satisfied reading it.  Far, far FAR from a masterpiece as I said before, I did still enjoy it.  The book had some big faults, but it wasn’t horrible.  It was a bit cheesy, a bit predictable, and full of that name dropping business.

Overall, I had to go with a three for a rating.  When I look at the rating I’ve given this book and then what I gave Uglies, I feel I wasn’t fair to Uglies.  It was written much better.  However, it didn’t deserve a two.  I think three is going to be a wide variety of books.  You have to make me pretty happy to get a 4 or 5!!

Hey!  I just realized this is a first in a series….soooooooo that means I can use it on my 1sts in a Series Challenge over at J. Kayes Book Blog!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on October 10, 2009.

8 Responses to “Vamps~ Book Review”

  1. […] Read the original here: Vamps~ Book Review « Between th&#101… […]

  2. […] The rest is here: Vamps~ Book Review « Between the Lines […]

  3. Yeah, vampires wearing Gucci…probably not my thing!

  4. “[…],” Lilith Todd said as she slid a Christian Louboutin heel onto her right foot.

    ;p

    Two of the things that bothered you – in the first sentence alone… how did you ever make it far enough in to discover you enjoyed it?

  5. Jo~ lol…yeah. Willpower. And I have some weird self-torture thing going on where I cannot leave a book unfinished. I don’t mind setting it aside and coming back, but some weird part of me won’t let me quit.

    Lenore~ That was the annoying part. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either.

    I think the part I liked best was that it was a book I didn’t have to think about to read. That sounds lazy of me….but sometimes I like to dumb it down a bit. I think of my younger years and books like The Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley High were those great works of literature, no certainly not, did I along still love to read them, yup…you bet.

  6. The soap-opera bit would probably annoy me now but this sounds like something I would have enjoyed as a tween.

  7. Ladytink_534~ Yup….definately “tweeny”.

  8. I am wondering if Nona would enjoy this…I never thought about that until reading this.

    Hmmmm….

Leave a Reply

 
