Mr. Darcy, Vampyre~ Book Review

by Amanda Grange
Read October 2009

 

mr-darcy-vampyre

Paperback Edition
308 Pages
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark
Genre~ Paranormal Romance, Classic Literature Companion, Vampires
ISBN 10~ 1 4022 3697 2
Rating~

 stars-3_5

 

from the back cover~

A married man in possession of a dark fortune must be in want of an eternal wife…

“My hand is trembling as I write this letter.  My nerves are in tatters and I am so altered that I believe you would not recognize me.  The past two months have been a nightmarish whirl of strange and disturbing circumstances, and the future…

I am afraid.

If anything happens to me, remember that I love you and that my spirit will always be with you, though we may never see each other again.  The world is a cold and frightening place where nothing is as it seems.”

I knew when I saw this book I HAD to read it. After losing a few contests in an attempt to win a copy, I was wondering how I would ever get this book! The husband and I bought a house a few months back and vowed to cut our extra expenses. To my surprise, he came home a couple of week ago with this book and The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. Woo Hoo! He DOES love me!

Mr. Darcy, Vampyre picks up where Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudiceleaves off, that is, if Mr. Darcy was a vampyre (yes with a y See below).  Amanda Grange, in my opinion, does a good job capturing the essence of Austen’s writing.  It didn’t take anything away from the original story, but added a twist.  Being a vampyre does explain a few thing about Mr. Darcy. 🙂  I didn’t have as hard of a time adding this to the list as I did Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.  Something about taking the original novel and adding zombies just seemed wrong to me.  I haven’t read it yet, but I changed my mind and added it when I saw several guys reading it.  If zombies can make men read Austen, I’ve got to give it a try.  I have not read any of Grange’s other novels which are tie-ins to other Austen novels, but I have read several good reviews. 

In addition, the descriptive nature of the writing really takes you into the story.  I think Grange has done well in capturing the spirit of Elizabeth Bennet especially.  Overall the book was really good.  There were only a few things that I wasn’t particularly fond of.  First, there is reference to bats in association with the vampyres.  For me, turning into a bat, just is really cheesy.  Now, I must say, it never says anyone actually turns into a bat, but it is implied.  Second, the ending seemed a little rushed and frantic in comparison with the slow, smooth nature of the rest of the book.  It was so descriptive and flowing and then the end came and I was disappointed in how quickly it was over.  I would say those things are minimal in the scheme of things.  The ending, while quick, fit into an Austen-style writing.  By that, I mean it fit into Austen’s style of writing.  I went back and forth on my star rating and went with 3.5 stars in the end.  I thought of giving it a 4, but even though I decided I wanted to read Grange’s other Austen-inspired novels after reading this, there were a few plot-holes and I think the 3.5 is more accurate.  Don’t get me wrong, 3.5 is a GOOD rating from me.  It still means I liked it!!!!

I’ve been intrigued for a while now as to why sometimes it’s vampYre and sometimes it’s vampIre. I’ve done a bit of limited research and from what I can tell, it’s mostly creative license. The french spelling is ‘vampyre’, and in german it is ‘vampir’. It seems the English word ‘vampire’ comes from a combination of different backgrounds. So, whether it be ‘vampyres’ or ‘vampires’ they are still bloodsucking creatures of the night and make for a mighty good read!

I really did enjoy this book and I am SO glad I read it for the Everything Austen Challenge at Stephanie’s Written Word! 

My Challenge list so far:

  • Austenland by Shannon Hale ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice BBC Miniseries
  • Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Emma by Jane Austen
  • Emma Movie Adaptation ~completed~
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
  • Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson ~completed~
  • The Jane Austen Book Club Movie ~completed~
  • Becoming Jane Movie
  • Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange ~completed~
  • Northanger Abbey Movie Adaptation
  • Mansfield Park Movie Adaptation
  • Bridget Jones’s Diary Movie- Extra Credit ~completed~
  • Clueless Movie Extra Credit! ~completed~
  • ~Jenn

    ~ by jennifermorrill on October 7, 2009.

    11 Responses to “Mr. Darcy, Vampyre~ Book Review”

    1. […] See original here:  Mr. Darcy, Vampyre~ Book Review « Bet… […]

    2. […] Read this article: Mr. Darcy, Vampyre~ Book Review « Between the Lines […]

    3. I’m reading this right now and am enjoying the beautiful descriptions of the countryside. I agree with the few plot holes, etc, but it’s still fun! And it’s my last book for the Everything Austen challenge!

    4. I felt completely the same way. The descriptions were great. I loved reading about the countryside.

    5. Great review, but oh, my gosh, I love your header! WOW!

    6. The good ‘ol hubby made that. I can’t figure out how to take out the page break in the center in the CSS stuff. I tried different theme templates but they don’t look right either!

      I told him I loved all of the cool little bits in it. It took me a while to figure out all of the pictures!

    7. I was nervous about reading this book until I read your fantastic review above. No I won’t read Austen and zombies, buit vamps are something I could try. It doesn’t appear they wil be going away anytime soon.
      Love the new header image too!
      And thank you for my award 🙂

    8. I’ve never finished an Austen book before but even if this is based on her work, throw in some vamps and I’m usually a happy girl (with only one notable exception to that rule).

    9. ~gasp~ Never. Finished. Austen?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

      🙂 🙂

      The concept was really good. The book was really good. The only exception was the rushed feeling about the ending. I would have never have read this if I hadn’t have been in the Everything Austen Challenge.

    10. I agree with what you said regarding the slow, then fast nature of the book. It’s slow when you’re waiting for Lizzie to find out, but then once she does, all this crazy stuff starts happening REALLY FAST. I think I gave it a 3.5 too, but I have no idea when my review is scheduled to post!

    11. […] Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange ~completed~ […]

    Leave a Reply

         
