It’s Monday Yet Again~ My Planned Week in Books

It’s that time again! My last week was a little slow, so I am glad I only gave myself 2 big books and 1 small book to read last week. I’m finishing up, Mr. Darcy, Vampyre today.  Look for the review soon.  This week I am planning 3 books again. I think I can manage.  Hopefully it won’t be quite as hectic of a week.

Planned for this week~

Ordinary Ghostsby Eireann Corrigan       

Ordinary Ghostsfrom the back cover~

“I know that if my brother were dead, that would make a better story.”  Emil’s brother isn’t dead.  Just gone.  It’s his mom who’s dead, and his dad who’s checked out completely checked out.  Emil’s alone.  Not in a teary-eyed, starving orphan way.  Just alone.  As in: nobody to talk to, nothing to do.

Then Emil finds the key that opens every single door in the elite prep school that he is forced to attend.  Suddenly, Emil doesn’t mind so much that he is a nonentity among the student population.  Nonentities are much harder to pin down.

Soon he’s sneaking into the school at night to explore – and falling for a girl who sneaks in for reasons of her own.  Emil’s spent a whole lot of his life dealing with disappearances.  Now he has to see what it takes to make things stay.

Vamps by Nancy A. Collins

Vampsfrom the back cover~

Night school never looked so good.

When the sun goes down, New York’s true elite all head to one place: Bathory Academy, where the young ladies of the finest vampire families are trained in shapeshifting and luring their prey.

Only Bathory’s reigning queen Lilith Todd, is the daughter of a powerful vampire businessman, and she knows exactly what she wants from life.  She wants to look beautiful for eternity and party till the sun comes up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Jules.  And she doesn’t want any New Blood upstarts standing in her way.

Enter Cally Monture, an unexpected threat from a trash zip code.  When their first meeting leads to tragic results, Lilith is hungry for revenge.

Break by Hannah Moskowitz

breakfrom the back cover~

Seventeen-year-old Jonah is on a mission to break every bone in his body.   Everyone knows that broken bones grow back stronger than they were before.  And Jonah wants to be stronger-needs to be stronger-because everything around him is falling apart.  Breaking, and then healing, is Jonah’s only way  to cope with the stresses of home, girls, and the world on his shoulders.

When Jonah’s self-destructive spiral accelerates and he hits rock bottom, will he find true strength or surrender to his breaking point?

and I am going to try to fit in one last book…

Angels on Sunset Boulevard by Melissa de la Cruz

angels_on_sunset_blvdfrom the back cover~

The Angels Practice, or TAP, is the kind of cult that doesn’t exist.  There are no rules and no records, just a MySpace-like website.  All you need to know is that it will define who you are and what you will become.

Amidst the glittering L.A. nightlife, TAP parties are the place to see or be seen, especially in the exclusive back room.  Taj and her rocker boyfriend, Johnny, are TAP elite, so when Taj meets preppie outsider Nick at a party, she doesn’t give him a second thought.  But then Johnny goes missing, along with Nick’s sister.  And suddenly Taj and Nick are teaming up to question TAP’s darker side…

Awards
From Velvet at vv32reads I received the Great Look Award.

greatlookaward

This award is meant to pat on the back the ones paying particular attention to their blog presentation, and god knows some of them looks awesome! Of course none of them are pretty empty shells, so there’s no shame to mention how nice their blogs are!

Here are the rules:
1. Post the award on your blog, with the name of the person who has granted the award, and his or her blog link.

2. Pass the award to 5 other blogs that your particularly like. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

  1.  Heather at Gofita’s Pages
  2. Alaine – Queen of Happy Endings
  3. Kristi at The Story Siren
  4. Lenore at Presenting Lenore
  5. Jen at Devourer of Books

 

From Heather at Gofita’s Pages I received the Honest Scrap award:

Honest_Award150

This is the Honest Scrap award. It is for those bloggers who write from the heart. The rules are to pass it along to seven bloggers and then list 10 honest things about myself. Here are those deserving of this honor, bloggers who write from the heart and touch me because of it:

  1. Elise at Reading Rocks
  2. Abby at Abby (the) Librarian
  3. Jenny at Jenny Loves to Read
  4. Julie at Booking Mama
  5. La Coccinelle at The Ladybug Reads
  6. velvet at vv32reads
  7. LadyTink_534 at Movieholic and Bibliophiles Blog

and 10 honest things about myself;

  1. I have three dogs, Edward, a one-year-old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Fleck, a 13 year-old German Shorthair Pointer, and Shankly, a 16 week-old Bullmastiff.
  2. I started nursing school, but got pregnant with my first daughter and dropped out!
  3. I’m on a diet and I miss real food.
  4. I have two daughters who love dance.
  5. I worry constantly!  About everything!
  6. My husband is British.
  7. My husband and I just bought a house and we have no money now.
  8. I have weird irrational fears of mayonnaise and band-aids.  It actually makes me sudder to type the words.
  9. I’m 31 and I have been married twice and divorced once.
  10. I love books and I am a compulsive book hoarder.

Other News
I wish I had other news….but I got nothing.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on October 5, 2009.

10 Responses to “It’s Monday Yet Again~ My Planned Week in Books”

  1. Thanks for the award! It’s so pretty! I should be dieting…but, I just love my candy too much! I’m also a book hoarder much to my hubby’s chagrin!

  2. I also love your new banner! Very chic and has so much information as well!

  3. Mayonnaise? I can honestly say that I’ve never heard of that phobia before. Do you avoid it entirely, or does it only bother you if you can see it?

    Thanks so much for the award! Now I have to think of 10 honest things about me. Time to turn on the ol’ brain…

  4. `Heather~ I LOVE sweets. They are my downfall. I’m better this week. I don’t feel hungry all of the time. And also…you are welsome for the award. I’m glad you like the new banner. My hubby made that for me this morning. He thought himself very creative by adding things like Shakespeare, Harry Potter, and Lord of the rings among other things in the background. Is it wrong of me to like the vampire mouth the best?

    La Coccinelle~ Even thinking of it makes me shudder. My family isn’t even allowed to bring it in the house. It grosses me out to watch other people eat it too. Oddly enough, my brother’s wife has the same feelings about it.

    It took me 45 minutes this morning to write that blog post mostly because I had to think of 10 things to say about myself!

  5. Thanks for the award. I’m so touched that you think I write from my heart!

  6. Congratulations on your awesome awards! Very well deserved! 🙂

  7. congrats! and thanks for sending me some blog lovin. great to hear about you. i’m gonna have to google your dog Edward. he has an interesting breed name.

  8. velvet~ He looks a bit like a cocker spaniel…only better and more awesome. I will post some doggie pics sometime this week. I have to try and straighten my blog out first. I’m playing around with different themes to go with my new hubby-made header.

  9. All of these sound neat!

    Aw! Thank you for the award!

  10. lol
    You always know how to make me laugh! lots of interesting facts about you, but the three dogs thing….my goodness that’s like 3 additional children.
    I also feel the same about books, and love to dance as well 🙂
    Thank you so much for this award Jennifer. You made my day!

Leave a Reply

 
