Shiver~ Book Review

by Maggie Stiefvater
read September 2009

ISBN 13~ 978-0-54-512326-6Shiver
Hardback Edition
400 pages (per google…I read an ARC copy)
Genre(s)~ Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Horror/Supernatural
Publisher~ Scholastic Press
Rating (I’m trying stars again!!)~

 stars-5

 

 

 

 

From the inside cover per Amazon:

the cold.
Grace ahs spent years watching the wolves behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf –her wolf– watches back. He feels deeply familiar to her, but she doesn’t know why.

the heat.
Sam has lived two lives. As a wolf he keeps the silent company of the girl he loves. And then, for a short time each year, he is human, never daring to talk to Grace…until now.

the shiver.
For Grace and Sam, love has always been kept at a distance. But once it’s spoken, it cannot be denied. Sam must fight to stay human– and Grace must fight to keep him– even in if means facing the scars of the past, the fragility of the present, and the impossibility of the future.

And from the back cover:
And then I opened my eyes and it was just Grace and me–nothing anywhere but Grace and me– she pressing her lips together as though she were keeping my kiss inside her, and me holding this moment that was as fragile as a bird in my hands.

I was hooked from the first, very short chapter.  I just wanted to read more and more.  Unfortunately life got in the way and I had to set it aside a few times to do dishes, make dinner, love my kids.  Ugh!  The nerve! 🙂  If I had my way I would have read it cover to cover in one sitting.

Sam is in love with Grace.  Grace is a human girl but Sam, however, is only human part of the time, the other part he is a wolf.  He knows Grace in both of his forms, but is too afraid to talk to her in his human form.  The words are so beautifully placed together, it flowed fantastically.  The characters seemed to realistic, despite one of them being a werewolf…and yes, I am aware how odd that statement sounds! 

I loved the romanticism of the love between them that was unspoken for so many years.  Also the idea that they are on borrowed time.  Sam knows he will only be human this last time.  Then what will the future hold?  I also loved that the romance wasn’t all hot and heavy.  The love they shared was expressed in the brush of lips across a forehead, the soft touch of fingers across a cheek, a soft embrace.  Loved it!

I read a lot of reviews on this book and everyone I read highly recommended it.  I am going to do the same.  I was totally impressed with the writing, the story, and the style of writing.  I loved the switch of POV between Sam and Grace in varying chapters.  I did not like the switch of POV in Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyers.  I think it wouldn’t have been bad if Bella and other characters switched POV from the beginning, as in this book, but the Twilight Saga, the first three books and 1/2 of the 4th are told from Bella’s POV and then switches to Jacob.  I literally said, “What the heck?!?” when I read it.  Okay…I’m going off on a tangent!

Read this book!   You won’t regret it!  I’m excited for the second book, Linger to come out next year!!  Here is a link to Maggie Stiefvater’s website for more information.

Thank you to Kristen at Bookworming in the 21st Century for having the wonderful contest that won me this book!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on September 25, 2009.

14 Responses to “Shiver~ Book Review”

  1. […] the rest here:  Shiver~ Book Review « Between the Lines By admin | category: adult reviews | tags: arc, costume, fiction, horror, […]

  2. I didn’t read your review, but I will as soon as I am done with the book. I have this one coming in and I am so excited. And thrilled you have it as a 5 star book! Yeah!!

  3. I think my review rambled a bit. I was typing with a 2 year old standing next to me screaming for no apparent reason. 🙂 I think you will like Shiver. I did read one bad review but I thought it was silly. They thought it was gross that Grace was in love with a wolf. I wanted to smack them in the head and say “Duh! He’s a WEREwolf!” lol…paranormal romance…it’s going to be a little strange. That same person thought that Twilight was the best book ever…which…well I think you and I share the same opinion on Twilight…great story, pretty good characters, okay writing.

    I’m going off on tangents today! I need a nap!

  4. LOLOL! Yes, Meyer did not know how to edit. I can’t believe you have time to read much less review with a young one. All I can say is WOW! You rock!

  5. Oh, and I am with you. Love paranormal romance.

  6. […] the original post: Shiver~ Book Review « Between the Lines Tags: 400-pages, arc, fantasy, horror, maggie, maggie-stiefvater, paranormal, […]

  7. That was it. I was trying to read, but screaming interfered with my reading more than it did my typing. I’m going to go back and try to finish Uglies. It’s nice and quiet with everyone sleeping. Even the pesky dog. Hmmm nap or read….

  8. […] Originally posted here: Shiver~ Book Review « Betwe… […]

  9. […] View post: Shiver~ Book Review « Between the Lines […]

  10. LOL I gave this ARC away after page 50 – it was so not for me. 🙂 I’m thrilled that you loved it though.

  11. That’s so funny! I loved it! But that is what makes our blogs unique. It would be boring if we were all the same!

  12. I love your attitude! 🙂 And, I agree completely.

  13. Great review! I have to say, I’m not quite sure about this book but I might have to give it a try.

  14. […] and Cover of Linger by Maggie Stiefvater I am SO excited! If any of you read my review of Shiver, you will know how much I LOVED […]

Leave a Reply

 
