The Vampire Diaries~ The Struggle

by L.J. Smith
read September 2009

awakeningstruggleISBN 13~ 978-0-06-114097-6
Paperback Edition
492 pages
Genre(s)~ Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Horror/Supernatural
Publisher~ Harper Teen (Harper Collins)
Rating (I’m trying stars this time!!)~ 

stars-4_5 

 

From the back cover:
A DEADLY LOVE TRIANGLE

Elena: the golden girl, the leader, the one who can have any boy she wants.

Stefan: brooding and mysterious, he seems to be the only one who can resist Elena, even as her struggles to protect her from the horrors that haunt his past.

Damon: sexy, dangerous, and driven by an urge for revenge against Stefan, the brother who betrayed him. Determined to have Elena, he’d kill to possess her.

When The Awakening ended, Stefan has just told Elena everything about what he is and where he came from. Even his deep dark secrets about Katherine and his relationship with his brother Damon. Damon, wanting Elena for his own, tries to ‘get rid’ of Stefan. The whole school and the police are looking for Stefan after the death of Mr. Tanner at the Halloween party at school.

The Struggle picks up right where The Awakening leaves off. It literally is just like the next chapter. In my case, it was the next chapter. I flat out refused to buy the edition with the kids from the CW show on the cover so I had been showing my husband the other one with The Awakening and The Struggle combined as one book. For that matter, why would you buy book one for $5.99 and book two for $5.99 when you can buy both combined for $7.99. I don’t see the point. Unless you really want the one with the kiddies on the front. I don’t need to be reminded that I am reading books intended for teenagers any more than I already am!! 🙂

Until reading book two, did I really see any sort of “love triangle” as mentioned on the back cover.  In fact, Damon was really only in the last few chapters.  Elena sees him before that, and is drawn to him, but nothing I would call a love triangle.  It was like she was under a spell.  If anything, book one is more about the love triangle between Matt, Elena, and Stefan.  Elena and Matt were dating, he loves her still, but she loves Stefan.  ~sigh~ To be in high school again…well actually, I think I’d pass.  Too much drama.

There is good interaction between the characters and I loved the way that I could “feel” what they were feeling.  I recently read another book that was written in 3rd person omniscient and I found it confusing the way it jumped from one person to another.  This book, with the same POV, was not confusing at all.  The vocabulary in the writing was rich, the narrative passages were smooth and descriptive, I was pleasantly surprised.  I was expecting a much more teen-directed book.  While both books are directed at teens, I found them enjoyable and well-written.

I read this book quickly.  It was fast-paced and a lot was going on, it held my interest.  In fact, I read the last of it bleary-eyed because I did not want to put it down.  I’m not sure why this was a separate book from the first as I said before.  Also, the ending was a bit too much of a cliff-hanger for me.  I’m a reader who likes things wrapped up, even in a series.  I read the first two teaser chapters of The Fury at the end and I was satisfied.  I’m looking forward to the next in the series, and enjoying the TV series on CW.  I’m liking this challenge! 

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on September 22, 2009.

11 Responses to “The Vampire Diaries~ The Struggle”

  1. I need to read the one, but I have so many others to read first. I’ll catch up on it later.

  2. I want to watch this tv series – if only to swoon over Ian S.

  3. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site. 🙂

  4. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

  5. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

  6. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

  7. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

  8. i had a hard time with this one until the last chapter. mostly because i’m the lovin the tv version more.

  9. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

  10. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

  11. […] Book Two~ The Struggle  […]

Leave a Reply

 
