Google Book Deal

Has anyone heard any news on this?

My husband was reading his daily fill of BBC News America and came upon this article on their website.

Apparently Google is seeking the rights to be able to publish eBooks for many out-of-print and non-copyright protected books.  They have set up a fund to compensate those authors affected by their proposal.

Hrmmmmm….

Other posts I found related to this subject:

Turning the Page on Google Books

The Google Book Deal Battle Heats Up

I may be interpreting this wrong, but I thought you could already do this.  I have eBooks I downloaded for free, such as Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, a bunch of William Shakespeare, Charles Dickens and more.  I don’t think Shakespeare is going to grumble…he’s been dead for quite some time.  Zombie Shakespeare is wanting his share?!?

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on September 21, 2009.

4 Responses to “Google Book Deal”

  1. Hmmm… that is interesting. I had not heard about that. I have not crossed over to e books yet…. still pretty old school here. 🙂

  2. Yes, Steve has stayed up on this news. I forgot the reason for the heated issue though…I wasn’t listening. 😉

  3. Dracula is a good one. I started listening to Frankenstein recently but haven’t gotten far. No, I’m not into ebooks, but that is good news.

  4. I’m not a huge e-book person. I don’t mind audiobooks for some things, but in general, I like to hold a book in my hands. The ebooks I have are just those old classics…some of which I have a copy of somewhere.

    I really don’t know a ton about the book deal. It seems like the main complaints are from Yahoo and MSN according to the article I read.

Leave a Reply

 
