An Award, Some Changes, and a Question For You

First off, I received a lovely Dragon’s Loyalty Award from J. Kaye at J. Kaye’s Book Blog. Isn’t it pretty??

Dragon's Loyalty AwardThe rules of this award are simple:

* If you have a blog, post it on your blog with a link back to the site who gave it to you.

* Leave them a comment on their site, email, etc. to let them know.

* If you don’t have a blog but have a website, Facebook, MySpace, Twitter or other type account, post there with a link back.

* Pass this on to 3-10 loyal fans.

So now I bestow this award upon….
Jenny at Jenny Loves to Read
Velvet at Vvb32Reads
Natasha at Maw Books
and Celia at The Adventures of Ceceila Bedeilia

Changes
I’ve been thinking hard about some ways I do my reviews. Reading all of the BBWA meme’s and interviews has opened my eyes to a few things. After reading a couple of blog posts regarding what readers want when they read a review, I decided to implement a few new things.

I’ve seen in several places that readers want a clear rating system. I think my reviews are pretty clear cut on whether I like a book or not, however, I do see the appeal to a clear-cut rating. I’m not sure what I will do…if I can find some cool stars or something. At minimum I will do a numbers rating. I’m not sure but I am open to suggestions if anyone has any.

I’m also going to try hard to be more consistent with the information presented.  I think that in addition to title and author, I should include ISBN, Genre(s), pages, and I’ve always liked to include the summary on the back cover, although I read that many people don’t like that.  I still include my thoughts and my own summary, but I like to put out there what the author and/or publisher want us to know.  In my opinion, it’s still important.  The first thing I usually do when I pick up a book si flip it over to the back cover or inside flap and read the summary.  Same when I look at a review on amazon or another online bookstore.  I read the publisher’s summary first and then I read the reviews.

I have a question to viewers. I’ve also read that darker backgrounds with white writing is annoying. As you can see, that is what I have!! As I’ve posted recently, I’m redesigning my site, so I am asking anyone who stops by to give me feedback. If you are uncomfortable leaving a comment in the “comment” section, drop me an email at jennifermorrill(at)att(dot)net. I would love to hear from you.  I’m also going to ask what you all think about the summary from the book in addition to my thoughts and or personal summary.

So what do you all think????

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on September 20, 2009.

4 Responses to “An Award, Some Changes, and a Question For You”

  1. I actually love the black and white! I think it’s pretty! I also have that on my blog so I may be biased…

    I have an award for you

    http://gofita.blogspot.com/2009/09/more-fun-awards.html

  2. Oh no way! Thank you so much!!! I am so honored and thrilled.

    Clear rating system: I think I have one, however I have not posted about that so I guess I should.

    Reviews: my header usually includes the improtant stuff, genre, publisher, etc. As far as the review goes I always find a summary somewhere and then give my thoughts. I try to be as critical as possible, or give reasons why I like something, but there are some reviewers who just amaze me with their powers of thinking and writing for that matter. I also try not to give away any spoilers which makes it a bit difficult. I have been toying with how to make my reviews better also. I’ll let you know if I come across any secrets.

    Your background: I told you before I loved it, but I understand your point. Designing the blog is tough. It doesn’t bother me, but I can’t speak for others. Oh that’s such a weenie answer!
    Plain white is too boring imho, so if you do go that route, get a pretty header or something. I am not HTML or blog savvy as you can see from mine own. Good luck because I know it’s tough and time consuming.

  3. Thanks for the input guys…or rather girls.

    I used stars on my last book rating…it looked a little funky to me….but we will see. I think I like the way I did it.

    I’ve always used a summary from the back of the book or inside flap, in addition to my own description and review. It never occurred to me not to do it this way until it was brought up on another blog during BBAW that they marked people down if they used summaries from somewhere else. To me, the summary that comes with the book needs to be there just as much as the isbn, publisher, and genre.

    I dunno…I’m going to stick with doing it, because that’s the way it makes sense to me. Everyone has their own way of doing things which is good. We wouldn’t want everyone’s blogs to be the same…that would be boring!

  4. I’m honored. Thanks for the beautiful dragon award. ;-D

Leave a Reply

 
