The Awakening

The Darkest Powers Book #2

by Kelley Armstrong
Read September 2009

The AwakeningI was lucky enough to win this book fromJ. Kaye’s Book Blogthrough one of her many giveaways. If you haven’t checked out her blog, make sure you do by clicking on the link. This book is an ARC, and I have to say it is the first ARC I have touched, let alone read. 🙂 One day…one day I will be sent an ARC by an author or publisher!!

I was so pleasantly surprised with the first book in the series, The Summoning, when Chloe Saunders first begins her story and I personally think this book was better than the first…and I loved the first one.

Spoilers for Book One, The Summoning

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is no way to give a synopsis or summary without giving away part of the first book.  Again we have zombies, ghosts, witches, sorcerers, werewolves…and much more.  The only thing we are missing is vampires!

One of the most endearing things about this book is the growing love triangle between Chloe, Derek, and Simon.  Derek and Simon are foster brothers and best friends.  All three teens have supernatural powers.  Chloe is a necromancer and can not only talk to the dead, but can reanimate them (YES!  There are ZOMBIES in this book for all of you zombie lovers out there!!!), Derek is a werewolf…er well…Derek is becominga werewolf, and Simon is a sorcerer.  The budding romance between Chloe and Simon is much more obvious.  He is a cute, sweet guy with tons of personality.  Derek is not quite the obvious choice, but his affections are growing very apparent.  The whole thing is done in such a sweet, innocent manner.  Come to think of it, this is a very clean read.  The only thing that might be questionable is running away, but it is from an institution that wants to kill them…Oh…and while they are on the streets, there is mention of shoplifting.

The Awakening  picks up right where The Summoning left off.  I do have to say, I had to grab my copy of The Summoning to see if I had missed something in the last chapters.  There seems to be a part missing where Chloe tells Liz she is a ghost.  I loved the constant adventure and following along as the teens discover new twists and turns with their powers.

I feel like this has been a very rambling review.  I’m going to apologize and attribute it to being sick!  My overall impressions; fantastic series!  I can’t wait for the 3rd book, The Reckoning, due out May 2010.  If you haven’t already, check out Kelley Armstrong’s website.  Funny enough, she mentions the same problem I had.  How do you give a description of the second book in a trilogy without giving away too much information about the first!

~Jenn

ISBN 978-0-06-166276-8
368 Pages
Publisher- Harper Collins (Harper Teen)

Genres- supernatural, YA fiction, paranormal
Themes- running away (from a terrible situation), shoplifting, fighting

~ by jennifermorrill on September 7, 2009.

11 Responses to “The Awakening”

  1. Wow, this looks like a great series…thanks for sharing.

  2. yay for the zombies. are they good ones? or baddies?

  3. Definately baddies! Zombie bats, birds, reanimated dead homeless guys…BUT Chloe can control them and potentially raise a zombie army. I have a feeling the next book will have many more zombies.

    I knew you and a few others would appreciate the mention of zombies!

    I’m not sure I’ve read any books or seen any movies with good zombies! Direct me…I want to read some!

  4. This looks really good!

  5. Baddies are fun to read. For good zombies reads you should check out Generation Dead by Daniel Waters or Breathers by S.G. Browne. I haven’t seen any “good” ones in a movie, although I think Fido might be one.

  6. Congrats on the win! I have seen these books a lot lately but haven’t had a chance yet to read them. But if you like them then I’m sure I will. Oh my tbr gets longer and longer 🙂

  7. Did you feel this was more exciting than the first book?

  8. J.Kaye- I did think it was more exciting. They ventured out and about a bit more. I’ve heard that Kelley Armstrong’s Otherworld series is very similar to the Darkest Powers series, however it is meant for an adult audience. I’m thinking I might give them a try.

    p.s. Thanks for the book!

  9. I did as well. I thought this second book was way better than the first, not that the first wasn’t good…lol! It was. I am really looking forward to book three!

  10. I’m excited about the 3rd book! I might try to sqeeze in some of her other books while I wait. I totally agree, the 2nd was a better book, although I still liked the first quite a bit. The second had more adventure and more tension. Plus, I liked the little formation of the love triangle.

  11. […] One, The Awakening first (not to be confused with another book of the same title, which I loved, by Kelley Armstrong).  I’m so glad The World’s Best Husband got me […]

Leave a Reply

 
