Tithe

A Modern Faerie Tale (Book 1)

by Holly Black
Read Aug/Sept 2009

titheHolly Black, co-author of the Spiderwick Chronicles, brings us the story of Kaye, a sixteen year-old girl who can see faeries. From the back cover:

Welcome to the realm of very scary faeries! Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad/ Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms –a struggle that could very well mean her death.

This book was an interesting one for me.  I won this book from a giveaway at Reading Rocks.  I loved the cover and the description of the book.  First thing I noticed when I started the book was how VERY large the font was.  My husband joked that he could read it from across the room in his lazy-boy.  It is definitely a very dark book.  I had to read several passages a few times because I was confused.  The book is written in third person omniscient and so it switches back and forth between Kaye, the main character, Roiben,  a Faerie Knight, and Corny, Kaye’s best friend’s brother.  By the way, Corny?  What kind of name is Corny?  Although it fit his character quite well.

I wouldn’t say this was my favorite book I read this far by any means, however, I found it interesting.  The storyline was unique and as one reviewer put it, “Deliciously dark”.  Although I found it a wee bit confusing in parts, I wanted to read on.  The storyline really grabs you in.  It’s a little bit romance, in a dark twisted way, a little bit mystery, and a big bit fantasy.  Also, if you are sensitive to language or themes listed below I would avoid this book.

Tithe is book one of Holly Black’s Modern Faerie Tales.  Book two that is out currently is Valiant.  Holly Black is so CUTE!  She reminds me of the girl who plays Alice in Twilight.  Check out her blog here.Holly Black

My copy of The Awakening I won from J. Kaye’s Book Blog just arrived in the mail today so I am happily off to read that.  I guess I made good time!  Something odd I thought I’d share; apparently the spell check on my blog, does not recognize ‘blog’ as a word.  It wants to change it to ‘bog’.  I think thats funny!

~Jenn

ISBN 0-689-86704-2
331 pages paperback edition
Published by Simon and Shuster
Themes- teenage drinking, teen smoking, bad parenting, strong language, sexual themes

The back of the book says ages 14 and up…that is if you don’t mind the prolific use of the ‘F’ word, teenage misconduct, and sexual themes!

~ by jennifermorrill on September 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
