Everything Austen Challenge- Emma Movie

Emma IMBD info
Directed by Douglas McGrath
Screenplay by Douglas McGrath
Based on the novel by Jane Austen
Released August 2nd 1996

emmaI enjoyed this version of Emma starring Gwyneth Paltrow. I intended to read the book first, because it has been a while. I wanted to be able to compare the novel and the book…well, it didn’t work out that way. Oops 🙂

So, like I said, it’s been quite a while since I’ve read this book, but to my recollections, it follows the novel fairly closely.  I thought Gwyneth Paltrow made a good Emma.  I think Emma might be my favorite female Austen character.  Elizabeth Bennet is easy to like, but I like Emma and her flaws.  I like that she messes things up.

emma and knightleyAs much as I like this character and the book and Jane Austen in general, it never occurred to me that Clueless was based on Emma.  Sheesh.  I’m just oblivious.  I have Clueless on my DVR and I am going to review it for extra credit.  I think it will be interesting to see it now that I know it’s based on Emma.

Emma KateI also found out that there was another version of Emma in 1996 that was a TV MiniSeries starring Kate Beckinsale as Emma.  Interesting.  I didn’t know there was another modern version.

I’m making steady progress through my Austen challenges.  My next one needs to be a book!  5/12 completed with 1 extra!

1. Austenland by Shannon Hale -Read July 2009.  I’ve wanted to read this for a long time and along comes a perfect challenge!

2. Pride and Prejudice BBC Miniseries -I’ve seen this a few times, but I don’t remember it fully.  It’s always worth another viewing.

3. Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation -I thought it would be interesting to compare and contrast the two movie versions of the novel.  I was going to reread the novel, but I’m not sure how much Pride and Prejudice I can take!

4. Emma by Jane Austen -Of all the Austen novels, I remember this one the least, so I picked it to re-read.

5. Emma Movie Adaptation -Liked this movie version.  I’ve heard this is one of the better ones.

6. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith -I have nothing to say other than…curiousity has finally got the best of me.  My biggest problem is the comment from the back; “…transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.”  To which I say “Hey!!!”  A little cheeky considering Jane Austen is still listed as an author…

7. Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson-Yay for free movies.  I have NEVER seen this so it will all be new to me!

8. The Jane Austen Book Club Movie -Again a free movie on my TV.  I hadn’t even heard of this but I read the description and it sounds good!

9. Becoming Jane Movie -YAY!  I wanted to go see this in the movies but my husband flat out refused.  Now it is FREE!!!!!  Of all of the movies I am most excited about this one.

10. Mr. Darcy, Vampyre – How can I resist?  If I am going to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, how can I leave this one off

11. Northanger Abbey Movie Adaptation- Never seen it, should be cool.

12. Mansfield Park Movie Adaptation- Haven’t seen this one either.

13. Bridget Jones’s Diary Movie- Extra Credit 🙂 

I’d love to add a book to this mix of movies.  Still looking for one to peak my interest!

Thanks again to Stephanie for hosting this fantastic challenge!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on September 1, 2009.

7 Responses to “Everything Austen Challenge- Emma Movie”

  1. My favourite Austen adaptation is the 2008 version of Sense and Sensibility (I think it was done by the BBC). The Emma Thompson version is good, but I always thought she was a bit old to play Elinor. The new version is a little more accurate, as far as the characters’ ages go.

    I didn’t realize Clueless was based on Emma, either. I just heard that recently. That’s one movie I haven’t seen! Maybe I’ll have to check it out.

  2. Nice challenge list! I loved this version of Emma! Jeremy Northam is a hottie. The TV version just wasn’t my style, though it was still enjoyable. I hope you enjoy the rest of your challenge!

  3. good list. i say do the jane austen club movie after you’re familiar with all 6 austen works (unless you are already) because then you can see the tie-ins better. i watched it without knowing much about mansfield park so didn’t relate to that part of the movie. enjoy!

  4. I echo the S&S sentiments expressed by La Coccinelle. The scenary and actors were splendid.
    I like Emma but not a fan of Paltrow, so not crazy about this one. And I didn’t know either that Clueless was a modern version of Emma. apparently we were both Clueless about it. (Corny, I knnow) I’m going to look for the Beckinsale version. She is beautiful and I just love her.

  5. I am not a fan of Gwyneth Paltrow either, but I liked her in this movie. I need to try the other one, but I can’t find it at the library. I’m going to try Netflix!

  6. […] Emma Movie Adaptation ~completed~ […]

  7. […] Emma Movie Adaptation ~completed~ […]

Leave a Reply

 
