Betrayed

House of Night #2
by P.C. and Kristin Cast
Read August 2009

BetrayedRight from the first chapter this book was noticeably more teen-like and critical of organized religion. Some may argue that the characters are teens, and therefore should talk like teens. I, however, found it a bit off-putting. It was almost like the authors were trying too hard to be “cool” or tap into that teen audience. I don’t remember the first book being that way at all. An example; He was also incredibly talented.  Someday soon he was going to join the ranks of other vamp movie stars like Matthew McConaughey, James Franco, Jake Gyllenhal, and Hugh Jackman (who is totally hot for an old guy). ~cringe~ Yikes.  He was born in 1968.  At 10 years older than me, I still wouldn’t refer to him as an ‘old guy’!!  Probably not the best example of it, but one that made me laugh out loud.  Also there is a lot of unnecessary use of ‘hell’ and ‘damn’. They were thrown in to places where it wasn’t necessary. 

Zoey’s step-father is a member of the People of Faith, which is an over-exaggerated religious group. I know there are religious extremes that are like this, but the People of Faith are made out to be hypocritical, judgemental, close-minded, patriarchal (with women playing subservient roles), and all-around not-so-nice people. I do have to say, this book is set in a made-up world where vampyres (yes with a y not an i…one of these days I will have to look up what the difference is) live amongst people and the people are aware that vampires are there. The People of Faith is apparently the only major religion around. I thinkthe idea is that religion has gone affray in the world of Zoey Redbird, but then again there is a boarding school for vampires that everyone knows about! 

One last thing.  I mentioned in this review and in my review of Marked, that I find it odd to have the setting be a modern-day version of our world, only where vampyres have always existed.  I didn’t mention before that of all the places in the world, this one has Tulsa, Oklahoma as the vampire hub of the US.  I guess if I’m thinking vampire I think of New York, San Francisco, New Orleans…not Tulsa.  I’ve been there.  Not exactly the setting I would choose for a vampire novel, but I suppose P.C and Kristin Cast had a different vision.

I think that is all of the negative stuff out of the way…on to the positive! I still love the Native American twist on the vampire story. I also detected almost an Egyptian feel to some of it. The way that cats are treated as sacred, the methods of worship, and the ancient runes all had an Egyptian feel to me. I may be wrong, just my interpretation.

Zoey is a very likable character. So is her best-friend Stevie Rae. The other members of Zoey’s clique started to annoy me. Mostly because they were the ones stuck with the “teeny-like” lines that I mentioned above. i.e. …Erin said. “My ‘rentals sent me an e-mail. They aren’t coming ’cause of some Thanksgiving cruise they decided to take to Alaska with my Aunt Alane and Uncle Liar Lloyd. Whatever.” Just mildly annoying reading someones dialogue when it is like that for most of the book.

Overall the book was readable, despite it’s flaws.  There was a part of the book that brought a tear to my eye!  Still left in the series are; Chosen, Untamed, Hunted, and the soon to be released (10*29*09) Tempted.  I will read at least the next book in the series to see how the writing progresses.  I’m curious to see.

~Jenn

ISBN- 0-312-36028-2

310 Pages

Publisher- St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre- Teen Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Supernatural, Fantasy

~ by jennifermorrill on August 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “Betrayed”

  1. well I’m glad the same basic story is still good, because if the books get all teeny bopper on me, I’ll have to reconsider the series. 1968 is NOT old, so you are not alone 🙂
    actually it’s a little closer to me than you so….that’s a downer. oh well.

  2. Ugh! I won’t be able to read much more if they get more and more “teeny”. I enjoyed the first one quite a bit and this one was just ok. I liked it, but it wasn’t as good as the first.

    I know!!! Hugh Jackman an “old guy”!?!?!?! Ha! Is that a hint that I am reading books that are too young for me??? It cracks me up because P.C. Cast isn’t exactly a spring chicken! I think Kristin Cast is in her mid to late twenties. Hmmmm….trying too hard maybe????

  3. Hmm, I was looking into this series…I’m thinking I’ll pass…Thanks for your honest review!

  4. […] have previously stated in my review of Betrayed (HoN #2) and Marked (HoN #1), that I liked this series, but the teeny dialogue and inner […]

Leave a Reply

 
