Everything Austen Challenge- Movie Pride and Predjudice

2005 Movie version IMBD link
Directed by Joe Wright
Screenplay by Deborah Moggach
Based upon the book by Jane Austen
Released Nov 23rd 2005

pride-and-prejudice-poster-300I have read many reviews of this movie with objections of Keira Knightly playing Elizabeth Bennett. I have to say, I am not a huge Keira Knightly fan, but I thought she performed her role as Elizabeth Bennet well.

darcy_largeThe other characters were well-cast as well.  Rosamund Pike made a lovely Jane. Although he’s no Colin Firth, Matthew Macfadden played a respectable Mr. Darcy. Mr. Bingley made me giggle. Simon Woods looks like such a goof.

lizzy_largeI felt that the main characters, Elizabeth Bennett, Jane Bennett, Mr. Darcy, Mr. Bingley all showed the proper character development. Mr. Darcy’s cold, impersonable side, melting at Elizabeth’s fiesty, spirted, free-nature. Mr. Bingley beinging kind of a dolt and Jane being too nice.

I thought the movie did not disappoint as they often can.  I still prefer the BBC mini series version….I think it’s Colin Firth.  Still good though!

Here is how my progress is going on my Everything Austen Challenge!

Keira_Knightley_in_Pride_and_Prejudice_Wallpaper_1_8001. Austenland by Shannon Hale -Read July 2009.  I’ve wanted to read this for a long time and along comes a perfect challenge!

2. Pride and Prejudice BBC Miniseries -I’ve seen this a few times, but I don’t remember it fully.  It’s always worth another viewing.

3. Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation -I thought it would be interesting to compare and contrast the two movie versions of the novel.  I was going to reread the novel, but I’m not sure how much Pride and Prejudice I can take!

4. Emma by Jane Austen -Of all the Austen novels, I remember this one the least, so I picked it to re-read.

5. Emma Movie Adaptation -I’ve started, but never finished this movie.  Again, I thought to compare and contrast would be interesting.

6. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith -I have nothing to say other than…curiousity has finally got the best of me.  My biggest problem is the comment from the back; “…transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.”  To which I say “Hey!!!”  A little cheeky considering Jane Austen is still listed as an author…

7. Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson-Yay for free movies.  I have NEVER seen this so it will all be new to me!

8. The Jane Austen Book Club Movie -Again a free movie on my TV.  I hadn’t even heard of this but I read the description and it sounds good!

9. Becoming Jane Movie -YAY!  I wanted to go see this in the movies but my husband flat out refused.  Now it is FREE!!!!!  Of all of the movies I am most excited about this one.

10. Mr. Darcy, Vampyre – How can I resist?  If I am going to read Pride and Prejudice and Vampires, how can I leave this one off

11. Northanger Abbey Movie Adaptation- Never seen it, should be cool.

12. Mansfield Park Movie Adaptation- Haven’t seen this one either.

13. Bridget Jones’s Diary Movie- Extra Credit 🙂 

I’d love to add a book to this mix of movies.  Still looking for one to peak my interest!

Thanks again to Stephanie for hosting this fantastic challenge!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on August 7, 2009.

11 Responses to “Everything Austen Challenge- Movie Pride and Predjudice”

  1. Love your list! Good luck!

  2. I’m a DVD hoarder so if I know I’ll love it I buy it! i hope you can find someone close who has a copy! It’s worth a look.

  3. I’ve heard a lot of criticism about this version, but I really enjoyed it! I’m glad you did too. (Though of course, nothing can beat Colin Firth).

  4. I liked this version because I thought it was a different take on P&P. The Benntt’s really didn’t have money, like the BBC version. I liked Knitley’s portrayal too.

    The updated Sense and Sensibilty (2008) from the BBC was excellent. Sorr but I liked it more than Emma Thompson. Not her, it was Hugh Grant. Not a fave of mine.

  5. I prefer the film versions for both, but I can accede that Hugh Grant was not very good in Sense and Sensibility. I’m actually currently writing a review on Sense & Sensibility to post tomorrow.

  6. Glad you enjoyed the 2005 version! I like putting it in the DVD player and doing other things while it’s on – I think the length makes watching the whole thing a lot more feasible than the BBC version, though that one is a favorite. Good review! And best of luck with the rest of the items on your list!

  7. […] Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation ~completed~ […]

  8. […] Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation ~completed~ […]

  9. I absolutely hated the 1995 version of P&P. Colin Firth doesn’t do it for me. But the biggest problem was Elizabeth. First of all she was very old for the part. She hardly seemed like a 23yrold. Also, she overdid the spunky part of Lizzie. She was a mean spirited, hateful snob, throwing her opinions around as if she were Einstein rather then a sheltered 23yr old girl! I especially hated the way she treated Mr Collin.s But her throwing the insults in Darcys face was bad. Very bad. The 1995 version of Lizzie was so mean that I simply couldn’t respect Mr Darcy for forgiving her. Only a man who hates himself and has no self esteem would ever forgive a woman who treated him like that. I also hated 1995 Caroline Bingley and Mrs Bennett. They played Caroline like an ugly step sister, and the mom as gold digging, shallow and crass. The 2005 movie saved this story for me. After seeing the 1995 movie I couldn’t read the story either. I just didn’t see Elizabeths actions as being spirited standing up for herself and her family. I saw it as snobby and condensating mean spirited and shallow. In Kiera Knightly the charm came back. Kiera showed how much her feelings were hurt when Mr Darcy rejected her at their first meeting. Not because of how he acted, but because she really liked him. Her actions were coming from being hurt. Also, the 2005 movie showed Lizzies faults frankly. She was a know-it-all. She was unfair to Mr Collins. And the 2005 movie showed how great a catch Charlotte was. So Good for Mr Collins! Kiera is a lot more likeable then the other actress too. And so beautiful! I loved the background and the dresses! It made the 1995 costumes look like they came from a highschool play. They showed Caroline Bingley as a smartassed, smug, but clever woman. Not nice, but not evil either. And best of all they redeemed Mrs Benett!! They showed that her concerns were very real, and Mr Benett was more aristocratic, but knew his wife was a good reality check. Lizzie may not have known how smart her mom was, but her dad knew! I LOVE the 2005 P&P. It totally saved the novel in every way!

  10. it was the best movie that i have seen
    everyone who really be romantic feel so that too
    i think keira knightly act so beautiful in it and i love her so much

  11. […] Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation ~completed~ […]

Leave a Reply

 
