Everything Austen Challenge- Movie Sense and Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility IMDB link
Directed by Ang Lee
Screenplay by Emma Thompson
Based on the Novel by Jane Austen
Released 13 December 1995

sense-and-sensibilityNumber 3 in my Everything Austen Challenge. My two August posts are both Austenesque movies, even though my plan had been to read a book and watch a movie each month of the challenge, it didn’t work that way this time. Oh well!

On to the movie. I LOVED it. I was amazed at the cast line-up; Emma Thompson as Elinor, Kate Winslet as Marianne, Hugh Grant as Mr. Ferrars, Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon, Hugh Laurie as Mr. Palmer.

It’s been quite a while since I read the book, so I can’t make an accurate comparison. The acting was brilliant. All the characters were full of life and not static. You could feel the heartache and the love exuded from the actors.

rickman_and_winslett_sense_and_sensibilityI truly felt like I was pulled into the novel.  This Austen novel really gives you some characters to despise!  Fanny Dashwood for being the worlds biggest….hrm…trying to not use a naughty word.  You can just imply.  And Mr. Willoughby!  What a naughty, naughty boy!

I have read a few other reviews and many people feel that Alan Rickman and Emma Thompson were too old to play their parts in this movie.  I thought that at first, but only about Emma Thompson.  Alan Rickman did not seem too old.  He was supposed to be older.  Emma Thompson grew on me.  Her acting of the part of Elinor was well portrayed and I didn’t see age, just actress.

I would recommend watching this movie to Austen fans and people who have never read Austen.  I know there are many versions out there, and I have only seen this one so I can’t compare.  I’m so glad I took part in this challenge and watched this movie.

Here is how my progress is going on my Everything Austen Challenge!

1. Austenland by Shannon Hale -Read July 2009.  I’ve wanted to read this for a long time and along comes a perfect challenge!

2. Pride and Prejudice BBC Miniseries -I’ve seen this a few times, but I don’t remember it fully.  It’s always worth another viewing.

3. Pride and Prejudice 2005 Movie Adaptation -I thought it would be interesting to compare and contrast the two movie versions of the novel.  I was going to reread the novel, but I’m not sure how much Pride and Prejudice I can take!

4. Emma by Jane Austen -Of all the Austen novels, I remember this one the least, so I picked it to re-read.

5. Emma Movie Adaptation -I’ve started, but never finished this movie.  Again, I thought to compare and contrast would be interesting.

6. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith -I have nothing to say other than…curiousity has finally got the best of me.  My biggest problem is the comment from the back; “…transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.”  To which I say “Hey!!!”  A little cheeky considering Jane Austen is still listed as an author…

7. Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson-Yay for free movies.  I have NEVER seen this so it will all be new to me!

8. The Jane Austen Book Club Movie -Again a free movie on my TV.  I hadn’t even heard of this but I read the description and it sounds good!

9. Becoming Jane Movie -YAY!  I wanted to go see this in the movies but my husband flat out refused.  Now it is FREE!!!!!  Of all of the movies I am most excited about this one.

10. Mr. Darcy, Vampyre – How can I resist?  If I am going to read Pride and Prejudice and Vampires, how can I leave this one off

11. Northanger Abbey Movie Adaptation- Haven’t seen it, let’s hope it doesn’t disappoint!

12. hmmmmm Haven’t decided.  I need another book….or maybe a project….any ideas?

Thanks again to Stephanie for hosting this fantastic challenge!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on August 1, 2009.

9 Responses to “Everything Austen Challenge- Movie Sense and Sensibility”

  1. I enjoyed this movie as well, and am glad you liked it!

  2. Great review. Did you know that Emma Thompson won an Oscar for writing the screenplay for this movie? She is one talented lady!!

  3. I actually meant to leave that info in my review about the Oscar. I’m new to Austen movies other than the Colin Firth P&P. That is why I’m glad you are having this challenge. I’m reading a few spin-offs and watching all the movies I’ve never seen. I’ve read the books several times, but it’s always nice to see them on screen…well not all movie adaptations are good 🙂 But so far my Austen movies haven’t disappointed. (My husband will no longer watch a movie with me if I have read the book. I was a little vocal about my disappointment with Eragon throughout the movie and I think I may have annoyed him a bit)

  4. I loved this movie too! Good luck on the rest of your challenge, they look excellent!

  5. This is one of my favorite movies… love Emma Thompson as Elinor, love Kate Winslet as Marianne. And LOVE Alan Rickman as Col. Brandon!

  6. […] Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson-Really enjoyed this movie.  Emma Thompson […]

  7. Love that photo you included of Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon. That man is something else…

    Great review, too! 🙂

  8. […] Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson ~completed~ […]

  9. […] Sense and Sensibility Movie Adaptation -1996 Version with Emma Thompson ~completed~ […]

Leave a Reply

 
