Harry Fest Update #3 & Still a Chance to Win

Discovering The Real World of Harry Potter
TV Special
Written and Directed by Shaun Trevisick
Narrated by Hugh Laurie (without an American Accent!)
Viewed July 16th, 2009
Originally aired in the US 10 December 2001

The Real Harry PotterSadly, I fell asleep the first time I watched this, but I tried to watch it at like 11:30 at night and I was a bit sleepy.

This is a documentary which follows the real people and places named in the Harry Potter books. I learned quite a bit about the actual places mentioned in the books. Although my husband is British, things like Kings Cross train Station and the Australian Embassy are not things we visit when we go there. He knows all about them, but being American, I had no clue.

I found some of the people interviewed to be a bit annoying, but there were definitely redemptions. J.K. Rowling is interviewed as well as childhood friends.

This documentary also goes into the parts that are hmmm…fiction based on history. Nicholas Flammel, the Philosopher’s Stone, etc.

Overall, I think Harry Potter fans will enjoy this. I checked online and the Travel Channel is supposed to be re-airing this the rest of the month. Check it out, you might learn something! 🙂  Also thought I’d add that my husband thinks it’s hilarious that I’m calling it a “Harryfest”.  I’m also going nice and slow with my reviews since I won’t be able to see the movie for a few more days.

~Jenn

p.s. Still time to enter my giveaway of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

~ by jennifermorrill on July 17, 2009.

One Response to “Harry Fest Update #3 & Still a Chance to Win”

  1. Wow – that would be a great read! Ill have to watch for that one. How interesting. I have read all about JK Rowling. Cant wait for Harry Potter theme park to open in Florida

Leave a Reply

 
