Harry Fest Update & Giveaway

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
IMDB Link
Directed by Chris Columbus

Based on the book by J.K. Rowling

Harry dvd coverMy Harryfest will not be complete in time for the movie’s release, however, I won’t be able to see the movie on it’s release date so I suppose it doesn’t matter much.  I’m starting with movie #1 and moving on through.

I think of all the Harry movies to come out so far, this one has stuck closest to the book. I think that is a good thing because it made the other novels transition to film easily.

dan radcliffe HP1Daniel Radcliffegave Harry Potter a face! Very close to what I had pictured in my mind…maybe with a little help from the cover art by Mary Grandpre.

I thought the casting for this movie was brilliant. The three young actors cast to play the main parts were spot-on in my opinion. Dumbledore, Professor McGonagall and Rubeus Hagrid were all perfect as well.

This movie is not as technologically advanced as the others, but it’s not to the point of looking silly. On that note, you all know you were petrified of Jaws, but can watch it now with a little giggle.

Harry’s first journey begins with the discovery that he is a wizard, as were his parents. He was orphaned not by a car crash, but by an assassination attempt by the evil wizard Voldemort.

I enjoy how we experience the wizarding world for the first time the at the same time as Harry. I must say he takes to the whole idea a lot easier than I would have.

What is a good year at school without a couple of close brushes with death, some new friends, and defeating the wizard who already tried to kill you once.

The biggest disappointment I have with this book/movie is that the publishers decided that they needed to dumb it down for an American audience. In Europe they got the title Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, we get the “sorcerers stone because they didn’t think audiences would get it and a sorcerer sounds more exciting that a philosopher.”  If you actually look up Nicholas Flamel, he tried many times to make the legendary philosopher’s stone for immortality. ~sigh~ oh well I guess we Americans is too dumb to be knowin that stuff.

Favorite parts of the movie;I when Harry starts receiving letters and then when he explores Diagon Alley with Hagrid.

Least favorite parts of the movie; Hermione telling Ron to, “Swish and flick” while he was fighting the troll.  Don’t know why it bothers me so much…it just makes me want to smack her.

Long, rambling story short, this is one of my favorites when it comes to the movies and I think it is one of the easier books to get a child into Harry Potter.  Nothing too dark or scary.

Now, check out my giveaway of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  It’s a hardback edition with no dust jacket unless I can find it…which I might.  Details here.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on July 13, 2009.

One Response to “Harry Fest Update & Giveaway”

  1. Is it the same as philosepers stone?

Leave a Reply

 
