The Battle of the Labyrinth

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book 4
by Rick Riordan

Read June 2009

battleofthelabyrinthSorry you all have to endure reading my Percy Jackson reviews!  I have a compulsion!  I can’t help it.  I have a stack of books waiting for me with loads of variety and so many different genres.  After this review there is only one more in the series, so then we will move on to different subjects.  I promise!

I have to say, I wasn’t wowed by these books initially.  I thought the first book was good, but like I said in my review, I wasn’t rushing out to buy the whole series.  I still didn’t buy them, my mom has already bought them and I borrowed her set.  Once I read the second book, I was much more hooked into the series.  The third book was good, but not as good as the first two.  There was so much going on it was hard to follow.

In this adventure, Percy Jackson, son of the sea god Poseidon and a mortal woman, is included in his friend Annabeth’s quest.  Annabeth, another half-blood (daughter of Athena), has been waiting for her quest for years.  She must find a way to navigate the legendary Labryinth of Daedalus.  The enemies of the Gods, the Titans, are stirring up a war.  They are attempting to recruit more and more half-bloods, monsters, and lesser gods to wage a war and overthrow the gods.

Luke, a former friend of Annabeth and Percy is leading the uprising.  Annabeth must face his betrayal, which is heartwrenching to her.  Luke is attempting to find a fool-proof way to navigate the Titan army through the Labryinth and attack Camp Half-Blood, the training ground of young heroes.

Annabeth and Percy along with Percy’s cyclops half-brother, Tyson, and Grover the satyr encounter many dangers and perils throughout their quest.  Their adventure is exciting, although slightly predictable.  I do have to say, as a middle reader, I suppose it shouldn’t be a great mystery to me.  I will be interested to read some of Rick Riordan’s aldult mystery novels.  After The Last Olympian, the final book in the series, I will take a Rick Riordan break!  I’m about a third of the way through, so we will be moving on soon.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on July 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Battle of the Labyrinth”

  1. omg i love percy jackson books and the dude who playes percy but anyway your litle thingy helped my 6th graders alot thanks

  2. hey homies i love this books lol anyway the dude to but btw your thingy helped me alot thanks now i canted wait to get me hands on it thanks so much!
    ttyl

Leave a Reply

 
