The Titan’s Curse

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book #3
by Rick Riordan
read June 2009

Titans curseOkay, so I’ve started them and now I have to finish them. I think it’s the same compulsion that makes me finish a book even if I don’t like it. When a book is part of a series, I seem to have the need to finish the series. I hadn’t realized this until lately. I have had a thing for series books lately.

This book had a lot going on in it. I think almost too much for a book that is average size. I’m sitting here now trying to think about what happened and I’m having trouble recalling what happened where, when and how.

I do like how much “learning” is packed into the books. Things like Greek Mythology and Legends and U.S. landmarks and travel. It’s almost like tricking you into learning something. My daughter was reading it next to me while I was reading it and she was snuggling with me. She learned about Greek and Roman Mythology in school this last year and she was very interested. She read about a chapter of it, which was slightly frustrating because she was reading the same pages as me and she reads a lot slower!! Smart little cookie though! She knew what most of it was about. I’d say she is a bit shy of the books target audience at 7 (~sigh~ she will be 8 on Thursday…it makes me feel REALLY old!!!) That being said, I am a lot older than the books target audience at 30. 🙂

Percy and his friends go on a cross-country voyage in this novel. We meet the Godess Artemis and her group of hunters. Her mysterious leiutenant Zoe Nightshade joins Percy, Thalia and Grover on their quest along with a newly found half-blood, Bianca diAngelo.

Bianca and her brother Nico are definately powerful half-breeds, but their parentage is unknown. Their past is cloudy to them. No one knows quite where they came from, including them.

This book also digs deeper into Annabeth’s family and we learn a lot more about her. Percy’s relationships with his friends and family are explored more as well.

Overall I liked this book, I just found it a little crowded as I said before. It also seemed like I read a bit more slowly…maybe bogged down by the overload of information. I’m not sure.  I’m already about halfway through the 4th book, The Battle of the Labryinth.  Look for that review soon.

 

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on June 23, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Titan’s Curse”

  1. This book looks good. A great review! Thanks! 🙂

    http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I just posted the review for the 4th book, The Battle of the Labyrinth and I will have the review up for the final book, The Last Olympian soon!

Leave a Reply

 
