The Sea of Monsters

Percy Jackson & The Olympians Book 2
by Rick Riordan
read June 2009

sea of monstersI have finally found my box of books that I have not read yet, but something is drawing me into this series. I think part of the charm of the books is Riordan’s lighthearted, charming and witty writing. Is it a work of literary genius, no. Is it an entertaining and satisfying read, yes.

For those of you who have not read book one, The Lightning Thief, Percy Jackson is no ordinary 7th grader. He’s just a demi-god, attracting all sorts of monsters, supernatural powers, and creatures of mythical legend. But he’s not even an ordinary demi-god. He is the son of one of “The Big Three”. He just happens to be the son of Poseidon, god of the sea.

The Big Three, Zeus, Poseidon and Hades have made a pact to not father any children with mortals because of an ancient prophecy. It doesn’t seem that they are sticking to the rules.

Percy is spending his second summer at Camp Half-Blood. His good friend Annabeth, daughter of Athena, is with him, although his friend Grover, a satyr, is off on a quest to find the legendary Pan.

This year something is amiss at Camp Half-Blood. Something is poisoning the land. An uprising from the titan lord and his followers is on the horizon. Percy begins having prophetic dreams about Grover and a quest to save the land.

Although the new camp director decides to send Clarisse, daughter of Ares, on the quest, Annabeth and Percy decide that they MUST try to save Grover and their beloved home-away-from home.

Along the way they encounter creatures of the sea, a wide variety of sea and land monsters and an old foe. They also discover more about themselves than they thought possible.

I enjoyed this book more than the first. I liked The Lightning Thief, I just found this book more exciting. My mom brought me the 3rd book today. Hmmmmm…I might read it or take a break and see what I find in my book box.

~Jenn

Themes- greek mythology, fighting, battle, ghosts, monsters

Characters- Percy Jackson, Annabeth, Chiron, Clarisse, Luke, Tyson

Topic- Faced with new challenges at his second year at Camp Half-Blood, Percy sets off on a new quest to try and save the land. He finds more about his father, himself and the prophecy surrounding his birth.

ISBN 142310334-3

279 pages

~ by jennifermorrill on June 12, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Sea of Monsters”

  1. I’m glad you liked this one more than the first one. I’m not jumping up and down to read the rest of the series, but I haven’t given up hope!

  2. I’m on the fifth book! i just find greek mythology so interesting.

  3. im reading that rite now this is good

Leave a Reply

 
