The Lightning Thief (The Olympians Book #1)

by Rick Riordan

read May 2009

070517_LightningThief_vmed_11a-thumb-298x447My mom fell in love with this series and insisted that I needed to read them.  We are in the middle of a move (by the way, I am not going to be homeless!!!)  and most of my books are packed up.  I also needed something light and easy to read, so I relented.  It wasn’t that I didn’t want to read them, I just had so many books ahead of them.

Percy Jackson is a troubled young boy.  He has been kicked out of 6 schools in the last 6 years.  He has ADHD and is dyslexic.  Everywhere he goes trouble seems to follow.  This year will be no different.  He is expelled from Yancy Academy.  He will miss his best friend Grover and his favorite teacher, Mr. Brunner, who teaches his favorite subject, Latin.  He finds that dispite his dyslexia and ADHD, he excels at greek mythology.  Little does he know, he is part of that same mythology…which may not be so mythological after all.

Percy, as it turns out is a godling, or a half-blood.  His mother is a human and his father is one of the gods, but which?  Percy finds that his best friend Grover is actually a satyr and is favorite teacher Mr. Brunner is actually Chiron, centaur trainer of heroes.

Trouble is brewing on Mt. Olympus.  Someone has stolen Zeus’ lightning bolt.  Percy is sent on a quest to retrive it and simmer the fight brewing amongst the gods.  Along the way, he battles some monsters, makes some good friends, takes a trip to the underworld, and is part of a nationwide man-hunt.

I found this book to be creative and fun to read.  It was exactly what I was looking for.  I needed something light, easy and fun, and this book had all of that.   Another thing I really enjoyed was the greek mythology.  I remember a lot of it from school, but I found myself looking up certain names and making sure that I was pronouncing them right in my head.  I thought it was very creative and unique to tie the mythology into an adventure story.  I have to say, I’m not rushing out to buy the whole series, but I will read them eventually.  Maybe sooner rather than later since my books are all still packed.  Maybe a review of book two will be very soon in the future.

~Jenn

Themes-  greek mythology, death, monsters, adultery

Characters- Percy Jackson, Annabeth, Chiron, Luke, Grover, “the gods” 

Setting- Present day New York, Mount Olympus, Camp Half-blood

Topic- Percy Jackson is not a normal boy.  He’s has ADHD and dyslexia and has been kicked out of 6 boarding school in as many years.  Suddenly is apparent that Percy really isn’t normal, he is the son of a god.  Quests, and adventure follow!

ISBN-0439865999

Pages-374

While I was looking up information for this book, I found out there is a movie due to be released in 2010.  There are some pretty big names in it; Uma Thurman, Rosario Dawson, Pierce Brosnan, Melina Kanakaredes, among others.  Here is the link to the IMDB page : http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0814255/

~ by jennifermorrill on June 1, 2009.

7 Responses to “The Lightning Thief (The Olympians Book #1)”

  1. Not rushing out to buy the whole series is what I think I said about it. I liked it but don’t need to rush out either. I am looking forward to the movie though. I think if it’s done well then it could be really good.

  2. Ha! I swear I didn’t read your review right before I posted mine! I think it could make a really great movie too. They have some big names in it.

    I think it is official, I will be reading the next in the series, The Sea of Monsters since I am out of unpacked reading material and my mom owns this whole series. You will soon find out what I think of book 2!

  3. I was thinking about this series, but was afraid it would be too young for a “young adult” (young ha-ha) like me to read. Now I think I’ll look these up.
    Thanks for the good review and heads up about the movie.

  4. It is young, but still interesting for a “young” adult. 🙂 There is a creative use of Greek Mythology to tell a story. I just finished the second book The Sea of Monsters and I think it was better than the first.

    I do have my box of books now so I might take a break before reading the next in the series.

    I will be posting a review of book 2 shortly.

  5. Hey! Googling randomly and found this blog :-). I loveee Percy Jackson!

  6. Hi Annabeth (a Percy Jackson inspired name??? 🙂 )

    I’m really glad I picked up and read this series. My 8 year old is reading it now and she really likes it as well. She learned a bit about Greek Mythology last year and really enjoyed it.

  7. this was the best book i have ever read.

Leave a Reply

 
