April in Review

So…What an unproductive month.  I feel like I have accomplished nothing.  I had to send 3 books back to the library partially read (The Underneath, The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society) all of which I was enjoying at the time I was reading them.

Furthermore, I really neglected my blog.  I’m going to yet again blame painkillers, pain, and children as my problem.  Good personal news; my daughter decided to try out for the mini jazz competition team at her dance studio and did fantastic.  So well, that they asked her to stay and try out for the mini hip hop team, which she also made.  Eh…who needs money.

I am making myself a promise to have a better month in May.  It might be tough though.  We will see.  I have a lot going on in May.  I have joing the Newberry reading challenge over at goodreads.com and I’m excited.  I’ve convinced myself (and more importantly, my husband) that I need to purchase these books rather than loan them from the library.  They started with the 1922 winners and honors and have moved on since.  This month they are reading The Voyages of Doctor Doolittle, which is apparently very hard to find an unedited version.  I’m going to follow them with The Dark Frigate for May and see if I can play catch-up with the rest of the books.  I like the pace of this challenge…nice and slow.  I have so many other things I want to read, I can’t be bogged down with reading only 1920’s Newberrys. 

Speaking of awards and books, I have added a page listing all of the Cybil (Children and Young adult Bloggers ‘ Literary) Awards over —–>there.  I had never heard of the Cybils until this year, but I am hooked.  It’s real people who are really interested and actually read books!  Don’t get me wrong, I love the Newberrys, but they always just seem so…I don’t know…politically chosen?

I’ve also added a page for Dr. Seuss books.  I focused on reading as many as I could last month and I’ve gotten so much traffic to my blog from it.  I decided to give them their own page.

Book review posts in April:

As many of you know, I have been putting a bit of time into adding “more info” links on my Newberrys page.  I added more to these books:

  • A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle
  • The Voyages of Dr. Doolittle by Hugh Lofting
  • Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt
  • The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene duBois
  • Swords of Steel: The Story of A Gettysburg Boy by Elsie Singmaster
  • Rules by Cynthia Lord
  • Queer Person by Ralph Hubbard
  • Hoping for a much better month of May.  Sorry this post is a few days late!!

    ~Jenn

    ~ by jennifermorrill on May 3, 2009.

    3 Responses to “April in Review”

    1. […] April in Review « Jennifer Morrill's Attempt at a Blog […]

    2. I never thought about reading the Newberry Medal books before. I wasn’t fond of them as a kid, but maybe it was luck of the draw. I vote for Briar Rose next. Sleeping Beauty is my favorite Disney film.
      And this is for you award

    3. I haven’t even done my April month in review yet, so you are doing better than me! I think I’ll have to do a May and April combo. I return books all the time to the library unread. My eyes are bigger than my stomach.

    Leave a Reply

         
