I Got To Go Book Shopping…

…and without spending ANY of my own money.  I guess I didn’t really get any books for myself.  Technically I didn’t get any thing for anyone.  I love going shopping with “grandma” sometimes.  Though mildly infuriating when mommy says “no, we can’t afford to get all of those” and grandma buys them anyways…I have to admit, secretly I enjoy the kids books as much as they do.  Also I get my mom’s leftovers when she is finished.

This is infuriating…I’m trying to type and my husband keeps knocking my elbow so I make typo’s or hitting the capslock button so I have to retype.  He really is worse than my kids.

Okay so here are the treasures we came home with:

  • Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
  • Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo
  • Fairy Haven and the something something I don’t remember and it’s upstairs (The Second book to Fairy Dust and the Quest For the Egg ) by Gail Carson Levine
  • Several leveled readers and books about puppies
  • Books 1, 2, and 4 of the Mercy Watson series by Kate DiCamillo

I think we were on a Kate DiCamillo kick this afternoon.  I found the first two at the used bookstore for $2 each in fantastic condition.  The leveled readers were also from the used bookstore and were $1 to $1.50 each.  We found the Gail Carson Levine book that my daughter has been begging for in the Borders Bargin book area for $3 in hardback (Score!)

My mom is also into The Olympians series after reading The Lightning Thief.  We found the second book in hardback also for $3 in the bargain section and then she bought the next two in the series as well.  I picked up A Thousand Splendid Suns and promptly put it back when I saw it was $16.99 for the paperback.  I’m too stingy to spend that much.  I will borrow it from the library!  We also picked up the Mercy Watson books from Borders.

I LOVE the Mercy Watson books.  They are very early chapter books.  Only a few pages per chapter, beautiful illustrations and interesting text.  The only other books I have seen like this are the Breyer Stablemates Series.

Very cool.  OH OH…I was shopping the other day and found the bargain DVD’s and picked up the movie version of Because of Winn-Dixie and one of my favorite cartoon movies, Ferngully for $5 each.

Yes, I am this cheap and I am ALWAYS excited to get a bargain!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on April 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
