One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish

by Dr. Seuss

Read March/April 2009

one-fish-two-fishThis was at the top of my “read but need to review and post” pile, so I’m not actually sure when I read it to my kids.

This is one of the Dr. Seuss books I have the clearest memories of from my childhood falling just behind How the Grinch Stole Christmas.  This might be gross or odd to some of you, but I clearly remember reading this book when I was sent home from school with lice when I was about 6 or 7.  I always have had long hair, so anytime lice went around, I got it.  Anyways, I remember laying on the counter on my back with my head in the sink reading this book while my mom washed my hair with the nasty shampoo and combed through it.  On a side note, because I work with children, I have gotten lice as an adult and although I cut and donate at least 10 inches of my hair each year, there are times when it is below my behind.  Long hair is just asking for lice.  Anyways, for anyone with kids who have a stubborn case of lice, use the lice shampoo and comb, but add in a step.  Towel dry the hair the best you can.  Buy an inexpesive but thick conditioner.  Saturate the hair with the conditioner doen to the scalp.  Let it sit for 15 min.  Use the lice comb to comb through from the roots.  I think the conditioner suffocates the adult lice and makes the nits easier to remove.  You might have to repeat the whole process in 2-3 days to make sure there are none left.

Ha…so on from the lice tutorial, back to the review.  I wish there were more quality beginning readers like this out there.  My daughter just recieved a book of about 5 or 6 Barbie Level 1 and Level 2 books.  She read the first one to me, but I had to help with most of it.  It was a level 1, but had words like pretend and fashion in it.  It seemed like it was not trying to actually provide reading practice using CVC (consanant-vowel-consanant) words or low level sight words…it was just a book about Barbie.  Dr. Seuss’s books, however, have a fabulous selection of sight words as well as a creative and funny story.

I read this to two three-year-olds, a four-year-old, and my five-year-old and everyone was giggling at the end of each page.  Seuss uses rhyme to intrigue young readers and each set of pages tries to use a word family with repetition.  For example;

               We took a look.

               We Saw a Nook.

               On his head

               he had a hook.

               On his hook

               he had a book.

               On his book was “How to Cook.”

               We saw him sit

               and try to cook.

               He took a look

               at the book on the hook.

               But a Nook can’t read,

               so a Nook can’t cook.

               So…

               what good to a Nook

               is a hook cook book?

It’s like every page tells a mini-story.  A book that has been entertaining children for nearly 40 years is amazing.  I might have to look into purchasing some of Dr. Seuss’s beginning readers for my daughter who is, despite my best efforts, a reluctant reader.  She loves to be read to, just not read things herself.

So I am going to try to post at least one of my read Dr. Seuss books every day, at very minumum.  I will get through the stack regardless of how busy I am!!

Also look for my reviews of Katherine Center’s A Bright Side of Disaster and The Cabinet of Wonders…which is over ——->there and my foot hurts too much to get up and see who the author is.  I should have them up soon as well as Inkspell by Cornelia Funke if I haven’t put it up already.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on April 15, 2009.

4 Responses to “One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish”

  1. […] One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss […]

  2. […] One Fish Two Fis&#104&#32&#82ed Fish Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss […]

  3. This Book isawesome :)I had too Read it to The Little Kids at My School .. Bye

  4. Hi, love One Fish, Red Fish. I totally agree with you, if only there was more of this. My daughter also brings home the Barbie readers, sigh…

    She has long hair too and has gotten lice a few times. We skip the lice shampoo and go straight to the conditioner on dry hair for two nights in a row. That has done the trick better than the lice shampoo. (Lice shampoo is very expensive where we live.)

Leave a Reply

 
