Wow I haven’t posted in a while!

I’m sorry I’ve just totally been consumed with my personal life right now…or rather the lives of my children and the multitude of activities they do. ~sigh~ and the littlest is wanting to add soccer in the fall. I told her she had to drop something…Mommy is beat.

I have actually been reading, both for myself and my kids.

companions-of-the-nightI’m reading Companions of the Night, yeah I know…cheesy title….by Vivian Vande Velde. I honestly have no idea where this book came from. I didn’t buy it, I dont remember getting it, but here it is. I was cleaning out under my bed and there it was. I had a book downstairs, but I was upstairs and with a broken foot I wasn’t going to go back downstairs. I love the authors name. vivian Vande Velde…it’s fun to say. As you probably guessed it’s about vampires. I will be finished soon and let you know what I think soon.

the-white-giraffe-cover1Kaylee, my oldest daughter, and I have been reading The White Giraffe by Lauren St. John. We are enjoying it. It’s about young english girl named Martine who lost both of her parents in a fire which she barely escaped from. She is sent to live with her grandmother in South Africa, whom she never knew existed. Life in South Africa is drastically different than life in England and Martine has trouble adjusting. She is miserable until she hears of an elusive and mysterious creature, the white giraffe. Many people don’t believe it exists, including Martine’s grandmother, but one night Martine sees it from her window.

mercy-watson-thinks-like-a-pigMy youngest daughter, Lauren, and I are reading Mercy Watson Thinks Like a Pig by Kate DiCamillo. It is actually the 5th book in the series, but she picked this one up at the school book fair, so we are starting with number 5. If you are not familiar with the series, like me, it is about the Watson family and their pig, Mercy. I love Kate DiCamillo’s other work and it is so awesome that she has created a chapter book series for younger children. The chapters are about 3 or 4 pages long. There is big print and bright colorful illustrations by Chris Van Dusen. I would suggest this series to anyone wanting to transition from leveled readers into “first chapter books.” The other books in the series have won many awards including; ALA Notable Children’s Book, Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor book, Nick Jr. Family Magazine Best Book of the Year, and Junior Library Guild Selection.

So look for some reviews coming soon! I promise!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on April 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
