Horton Hatches the Egg

by Dr. Seuss

read April 2009

hortonThis post is part of my extension of Dr. Seuss reviews.  Maybe I will add them as a list somewhere.  Hmm…I have to think about it.

I’m not sure that I ever read this book.  I know I read Horton Hears a Who, which I am presuming is about the same Horton the elephant.

The first thing that caught my eye was the name of the bird, “Mayzie.”  I recently read and reviewed Daisy-Head Mayzie which was written well after this book…but I guess my first reaction was annoyance at the name being used again.  Not sure if that is the appropriate emotion/reaction, but I’m being honest.  My children were being quite the handful this evening, so maybe that added to my easy annoyance.  He needed one of those baby name books.

Despite the name of the bird, I still really liked this book.  Horton is essentially tricked into sitting on the Mayzie-Bird’s egg up in her nest.  She promises a quick return, but alas Horton is left for 51 days sitting on the egg.

He is taunted by the other animals, but he contiues to sit as he promised he would.  He is then faced with hunters, but he refuses to break his promise.  The hunters take him tree and all back to New York where he is sold to the circus.  He is then laughed at by all of the circus-goers.  Horton begins to get very sad.

Suddenly the egg begins to crack.  The Mayzie-Bird, stopping by the circus, suddenly lays claim to her egg claiming Horton stole it.  Much to everyone’ surprise, out hatches a small animal with bird-like wings, a long elephant trunk, flappy ears, and an elephant tail.  The circus folk are so impressed they take Horton and his hatchling back to the jungle.

I love the verse and rhyme in this book.  It is very pleasant to read out-loud.  My daughter loved it and giggled relentlessly at the silly parts.  I have Horton Hears a Who and the new movie version of it on hold at the library.  We will see how it compares.  I’ve seen the old cartoon, but not the new one.  My girls are excited to watch it as well.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on April 2, 2009.

One Response to “Horton Hatches the Egg”

  1. […] Horton Hatches The Egg by Dr. Seuss […]

Leave a Reply

 
