How The Grinch Stole Christmas

by Dr. Seuss

read March 2009

how-the-grinch-stole-christmasWell….it’s not Christmas, but I had to include “The Grinch” in my Dr. Seuss reviews.  I think it is the most memorable Dr.  Seuss book from my childhood.  I think I have read the book and watched the cartoon at least every Christmas-time since I was about 3 or 4.  I honestly think I can quote it!

The thing that I think is great about this and other Dr. Seuss books is that my children enjoy them as much as I did when I was a child.  I think Dr. Seuss will always have a large spot reserved in the history of children’s literature, right up their with Mother Goose, Hans Christian Anderson, and the Brothers Grimm.

For those of you living under a rock for the last 30 years, How The Grinch Stole Christmas, takes place in Whoville, the home of the Who’s.  The Whos all love Christmas, but the Grinch who lives just north of Whoville does not.

He devises an evil plan to stop Christmas from coming.  He decides that he will pose as Santa Claus and steal all of the Who’s decorations, presents, and Christmas feasts.  He thinks that this will stop Christmas from coming.

His plan is going well until little Cindy-Lou Who wakes up and catches him in the act.  He lies to her and tells her that he is taking in the Christmas tree for repairs.  He tucks her back into bed and continues with his devilish plan.  He steals everything from the Whos.

He takes his sled up to the top of Mt. Crumpit where he plans to dump the entire load.  He sits and waits for the cries from the Whos, but instead he hears a different sound…singing!  The Grinch comes to realize what Christmas is really about:

          Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before!

          “Maybe Christmas,” he thought, “doesn’t come from a store.

          “Maybe Christmas…perhaps…means a little bit more!”

This is a great story for children who may get a bit ‘present-dazed’ around Christmas time and forget the true meaning of Christmas.  Well, sort of.  I’ve taught my children that Christmas is the celebration of the birth of God’s son, Jesus, and we celebrate his birth by being around those we love and exchanging gifts.  But the message Dr. Seuss sends is a good one.  It isn’t about the presents and decorations, it’s much more than that.

The cartoon made from this book is a classic.  I thought the additions and creative liberties taken were done well.  They enhanced what Dr. Seuss had created.  The live action movie was a bit different.  It wasn’t as much of a trainwreck as the live-action version of The Cat in The Hat, but it wasn’t fantastic either.  Just okay in my opinion.

~Jenn 

~ by jennifermorrill on March 31, 2009.

One Response to “How The Grinch Stole Christmas”

  1. […] How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss […]

Leave a Reply

 
