You’re Only Old Once

A Book for Obsolete Children

by Dr.Seuss

read March 2009

youre-only-old-onceI actually laughed out loud when I read the subtitle of this book.  I would actually buy this book as a gift for someone getting older.  I’m not sure if this book was actually designed for children or adults…or maybe both.  My daughter didn’t seem as enthusiastic as I was.  I thought it was hilarious.

The story is about an old man and his trip to the doctor.  He is first stripped of his clothes and made to wait until Mrs. Beck, beckons.  Next he is subjected to numerous tests and doctors for evey part of his body.  Since I have gone through the wonderful experience of childbirth, twice, I have literally had doctors see my insides.  It makes me giggle, because I felt poked and prodded just like the man in the book.

My favorite parts are near the end where he is being told which pills to take when…there are hundreds and this page which I will quote:

               When at last we are sure

               you’ve been properly pilled,

               then a few paper forms

               must be properly filled

               so that you and your heirs

               may be properly billed.

The picture on this page has a conveyor belt with tons of papers he is signing as they come by.  I’m not sure why I find it so funny.  I think because I have felt like I am signing my life away when signing doctors forms.

There are only a few days left to enter in my March Giveaway (see link on right) or Natasha automatically gets my book…which I am fine with.  I like Natasha!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “You’re Only Old Once”

  1. I like me too! I want to win! I’ve never heard of this one before. He’s got so many books that I don’t even know about.

  2. Well Natasha, you are looking pretty good for winning! I want to win your giveaway though! Seven signed books!? You rock. I feel a little greedy entering though….I won the Twilight books a few months ago. They are sitting proudly on my shelf.

    But these Jodi Picoult books are SIGNED! I do not own a signed copy of any book. I wanted that signed copy of Madapple you gave away during your Darfur Campaign. 🙂 I guess I can’t win everything!

  3. […] You’re Only Old Once (A Book for Obsolete Children) by Dr. Seuss […]

Leave a Reply

 
