My Many Colored Days

by Dr. Seuss, paintings by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher

read March 2009

my-many-colored-daysAfter reading this book, I looked at the publishing information and it was published in 1996, but Ted Geisel died in 1992.  The book has dedications from the illustrators, “For Denise and Frances”, but also from Audrey Geisel, “To Ted, who colored my days…and my life.”  So I had to do some research.  I found this on Amazon.com:

Amazon.com Review
The words and illustrations of Dr. Seuss have alway seemed inseparable–a peerless fusion of verbal and visual wit. Yet when the good doctor wrote the manuscript for My Many Colored Days in 1973, he specified that the book should be illustrated by “a great color artist who will not be dominated by me.” Twenty-three years later, he has gotten his wish. Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher have produced a series of rich, painterly images that could never be mistaken for faux-Seuss. They have, however, caught something of his simplicity, and just as important, his sense of whimsy.

Ah-ha!  Well that explains a few things.  I liked the simple drawings and the simple text.  It has a noticibly younger feel to it.  More of a preschoolers book than a beginning reader.  I did like the way that it related emotions to colors and that it went through the array of emotions.  I always tell my kids, both my own and those who are in my care that it’s okay to feel mad or sad, everyone does sometimes.  We just have to try and turn it around.  I’ve never been one to stife emotions, only to encourage healthy way of dealing with them.

I have one very emotional child and one who well…how can I put it…she really could care less.  I let you know how that all turns out 🙂 !

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “My Many Colored Days”

  1. […] My Many Colored Days by Dr. Seuss […]

  2. i like this book it is awesome! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
