I Am NOT Going To Get Up Today!

by Dr. Seuss, ill by James Stevenson

read March 2009

i-am-not-going-to-get-up-todayThis sounds like my mornings with my oldest daughter, Kaylee.   That girl needs her sleep or she is a bear.  I have to say, this is not my favorite Dr. Seuss book.  Firstly, it is not illustrated by Dr. Seuss, which I found odd since he usually used the pseudonym, Theo. LeSieg, for books he wrote but didn’t illustrate.  Don’t I feel like the smarty-pants…having read Dr. Seuss books all month, I’ve learned quite a bit.  Second, it just isn’t that great.

Now, I must go on to explain.  The rhyming is not up to what I consider the Dr. Seuss standard.  For example:

          I don’t care if kids are getting up

          right now all over town.

          I’m the kid who ISN’T getting up.

          I’m staying down.

I mean using “getting up” to rhyme with “getting up”???  Not the usual Dr. Seuss imagination.  Another reason I wasn’t a huge fan of this book, it just goes on for too long.  After the first few pages, we get the point…he isn’t going to get up.  Not to mention, by stating all day about how he isn’t going to get up, isn’t exactly relaxing. 

The ending is perhaps one of the oddest I’ve read.  Somewhere near the beginning, the boy says something about not eating breakfast and to send his egg back to the chicken.  Okay…but then at the end the mother says, “I guess he really means it.”  Then on the next page she says to the police officer, “So you can have the egg.” Huh?  That’s how it’s going to end?  Hmmmm…I could think up a better ending than that.

Well, I guess I can’t be in love with all of his books.  I’ve read a lot worse.  Anyways, check out my Dr. Seuss giveaway on the sidebar.  I’m glad we read two tonight, I liked the other one MUCH better.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 24, 2009.

One Response to “I Am NOT Going To Get Up Today!”

  1. […] I Am NOT Going To Get Up Today! by Dr. Seuss […]

Leave a Reply

 
