Stacy Had a Little Sister

by Wendie C. Old, ill by Judith Friedman
read March 2009

stacyhadalittlesisterWow. This book should have had a disclaimer. I usually don’t write in my blog on picture books not related to my topic of the month or Caldecott books, but I was so shocked after reading this I had to write about it.

Now, this kind of book has it’s place. But my daughter picked it up off of the shelf at the library, randomly. If I know my daughter, she picked it because of it’s pink cover. We started to read it, and my girls were crying by the end.

The title Stacy Had A Little Sister became more appropriate as I read on.  I thought it was going to be about a little girls jealousy over a new little sister, but no, Stacy’s little sister actually dies.

Her sister, Ashley, dies at a few months old of SIDS.  Stacy thinks it’s all her fault.  Her parents and close family all grieve and move forward together.  It should have been called Stacy Had a Little Sister, a Story About SIDS, then I could have encouraged another choice and people who need a book about SIDS for children, know where to look.

I had to tuck my kids in with extra kisses assuring them they wouldn’t die in their sleep.  My, my this wasn’t what I expected.  So, long story short, if you need a book about grieving and loss for children I would recommend this book.  If you have a child who hasn’t had to deal with death or a really sensitive child, I wouldn’t suggest it, especially not as a bedtime story.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 19, 2009.

One Response to “Stacy Had a Little Sister”

  1. Excellent book for those children who have experienced the death of a sibling!

Leave a Reply

 
