Cat In The Hat

by Dr. Seuss

read March 2009

cat-hat-bookI didn’t know, before reading it on the Dr. Seuss website, that Cat In The Hat was written as a challenge.  Theodor Geisel was given a list of the top 220 early-reader primer words and decided to go out and make a book using as many as he could.  The end result…The Cat In The Hat.

According to www.seussville.com schools were reluctant to adopt The Cat In The Hat as an official primer, but children and parents were enthusiastic about it.  Though And to Think I Saw It On Mulberry Street was Dr. Seuss’s first published work, The Cat In The Hat, launched his career into what we know today.

Every child, every where, needs to read this book at least once!  Don’t bother with the movie!  Not my cup of tea, but my kids like it.  I don’t think they see it the same way I do…animated Dr. Seuss is good, but my experience is that live-action Dr. Seuss is not as great. 🙂

~Jenn

p.s. Check out the link on the right…or don’t…I kind of want Natasha to win…to enter in my March giveaway of Are You My Mother a Dr. Seuss Beginner Book written by P.D. Eastman.

~ by jennifermorrill on March 17, 2009.

7 Responses to “Cat In The Hat”

  1. […] The Cat In The Hat by Dr. Seuss […]

  2. I LOVE DR.SEUSS, HE MAKE ME LAUGH AND I WISH THAT I CAN BECOME A BOOK ILLUSTRATOR, AND AUTHOR.LOVE,KIANNA CAMPBELL

  3. I KIANNA CAMPBELL IS SOOOOOOOOOOO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!~N~ I LUV3 KYWAN ROUSER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!??????????????l;)
    DR. SEUSS IS SOOO WONDERFUL!!!! I READ HIS BOOKS EVERY NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I love your Books. Please send me a e-mail!!!!!! Will you please
    come to my School. I go to Manchester Elementary School in
    PineWood South Carolina. We would love u to come and read
    a story. Love,
    Kyleigh

  5. the thing that i love about the Dr. is that he has a weird illustrator. i think the pictures are great! i love them. haha yeah

  6. Wow.. I did not know that. I; like so many love Dr Seuss’s work, and I especially enjoy reading them to my children. There is something special about his work when its read aloud.

    But your right, the movie just did not understand the idea.

  7. i think he’s a wonderful and a great inspiration to smaller kids and Evan to older people why did we have to love him so much when we don’t know him most people say but i say its because we love him and his books cause it gives us a wonderful imagination and lets us live in a world that is so unbelievable thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

 
