~Sigh~ I Love Books

So, this is totally random, maybe as a result of total exhaustion, but my brain is is a weird, rambly place.

I’ve read from 4 different books today and I was just laying back, having just woken up from a nap and I was thinking about all of the amazing places I was transported too today. 

I started this morning with Cornelia Funke’s Inkspell and was in a world with fairies, books, coming to life, and people who can breathe fire.  Then the kids came and I was listening to A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket.  Poor unfortunate orphans, being sent to live in all of these horrible places.  We left them climbing the stairs to their new residence.

Later in the day, I had time to myself, and I read more of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski.  Puppies, dog breeding, life in the mid-west and a bit of mystery and misfortune.  Then my daughter started reading Civil War on a Sunday (Magic Tree House #21) by Mary Pope Osborne and we were literally trasported back in time to the Civil War.  I made her read it aloud because he had to do a report on it.  I wanted to make sure she was reading it right.

So, there you are 4 different, amazing worlds, created by 4 different amazing authors.  Today I was in that mind-set where I was transported into the worlds written by others.  Sometimes it’s just good to drift into another world.

I have no idea what this post is really about…other than, I love books!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 14, 2009.

One Response to “~Sigh~ I Love Books”

  1. Jenn – with all of your love for books and reading we will be waiting for “your” book-mom

Leave a Reply

 
