Hooray For Diffendoofer Day

by Dr. Seuss…finished up with help from Jack Prelutsky and Lane Smith

read March 2009

hooray-for-diffendoofer-dayI had no idea the history behind this book and I’m amazed now that I know it.  Dr. Seuss, aka Ted Geisel, died with many unfinished works.  His last published work before his death was Oh, The Places You Will Go, my favorite Dr. Seuss book.  Fortuntely, Ted Geisel’s editor Janet Schulman, decided to revive one of his unfinished works.  It was awesome to see Dr. Seuss’ brain at work because….yay…they included all of his rough draft schetches and notes. 

His editor enlisted the help of Jack Prelutsky, one of my favorite children’s poets, and Lane Smith, recipient of the 1993 Caldecott Honor for his artwork in The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Fairy Talesby Jon Scieszka. 

The artwork in the book shows the stylings of Dr. Seuss with the infusion of Lane Smith.  Way cool.  You can tell that the book isn’t all Dr. SeussThat isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  The collaboration is very neat.  I’m sure both Prelutsky and Smith were happy to assist in this posthumous work of the fabulous Theodor Geisel.

I reviewed this book as part of my monthly tribute to Dr. Seuss along with my giveaway.  If you haven’t checked out the details here, then you are making Natasha my clear winner!  Well Natasha, I’m glad that if I only have one entry, it’s you!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “Hooray For Diffendoofer Day”

  1. Hmm . . . I’m kind of hoping that at this point nobody else enters! I had no idea that there was a book out there like this. We are big Lane Smith fans at our house.

  2. I had no idea that this book existed either. It really is cool seeing the collabrative work of three amazing author/illustrators.

    Your husband is an artist right? He made a children’s picture book didn’t he?

  3. […] Hooray For Diffendoofer Day! by Dr. Seuss, Jack Prelutsky & Lane Smith […]

Leave a Reply

 
