What Do You Do With a Tail Like This?

by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page

read March 2009

what-do-you-do-with

I’ve had a copy of this book for a long time and I’ve loved reading it to all of my classes.  My daughter pulled it out of a box of my teaching stuff and wanted to read it.  At the time when I bought it, I wasn’t trying to read my way through the Caldecotts, so this was just a bonus.  It has fantastic illustrations.  I’m not an expert on how illustrations are made.  I didn’t pay attention in art class.  Naughty me.  My best guess is that they are paper cut-outs.  Whatever method it is…the outcome is beautiful illustrations.

It starts with a page with a bunch of different animal noses on the page, with the phrase, “What would you do with a nose like this?”  The next page shows you who the nose belongs to and what that animal uses it for.

The book continues like this going through the noses, ears, tails, eyes, feet, and mouths.  The last pages have factual information about each animal featured.  I actually learned a few things from this book, which is pretty cool.

This book recieved the Caldecott Honor in 2004.  I think it’s a really cool book and so has every kid I have ever read it to!

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 7, 2009.

3 Responses to “What Do You Do With a Tail Like This?”

  1. Our librarian read this book for our storytime once and I really liked it. I should check it out and look at it more closely. I’m sure my boys would like it.

  2. This sounds like a great children’s book. I’m going to look for it the next time I go to the library or the bookstore. Thanks.

  3. […] What Do You Do With A Tail Like This? by Steve Jenkins & Robin Page […]

Leave a Reply

 
