Are You My Mother?

by P.D. Eastman

read March 2009

are-you-my-motherAlthough this is not truly written by Dr. Seuss, it is part of the Dr. Seuss beginning reading collection.  I LOVE this book.  It was one of my favorites growing up and my daughters favorites to read out loud.

I am giving away a copy of this book for my March Appreciation of Dr. Seuss Giveaway.  Click to follow the link to the post.  So far no one has entered so get to it and get yourself a free copy!

This book starts with a mother bird in her nest with her egg.  She knows her baby will be hatching soon so she sets off to find some food.  While she is gone, the baby bird hatches and sets off to find his mother.  But he has a problem…he doesn’t know what his mother looks like!

He asks everything he finds from a cow to an airplane and finally, my daughter’s favorite, the tractor, which he calls a “Snort.”  The Snort returns him to his nest where his mother reappears with dinner for him.

It’s such a cute story.  Fun to read aloud.  Fun for beginning readers to read out loud.  Lots of repetition and easy to sound out words.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “Are You My Mother?”

  1. […] Are You My Mother? « Jennifer Morrill’s Attempt at a Blog […]

  2. […] Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman […]

Leave a Reply

 
