The House in the Night

by Susan Marie Swanson, ill by Beth Krommes

read March 2009

house-in-the-nightI was pleasantly surprised with this 2009 Caldecott Winner.  From the cover and title I was expecting something dark and maybe even scary.  Instead I was treated to beautiful black and white line drawings with accents of goldenrod.  I love all of the penmarks in the drawings, so very carefully laid out to show depth and texture.  Absolutely beautiful.

The story was quite cute as well.  It starts with a key and builds up to the house and the room, etc, then works backwards back to the key.

I really enjoyed this book and so did my daughter.  She of course loved the mama cat and her two kittens and the puppy…but the story was enjoyable for her as well.  This is a book I would buy for my collection.

~Jenn

~ by jennifermorrill on March 3, 2009.

3 Responses to “The House in the Night”

  1. I have this review in draft on my blog! I liked it as well. It was fun because the author was on Twitter while they were announcing the winners. I got to send my congrats to her and she responded with saying “Thanks!.” It was fun to be part of the experience.

  2. I haven’t done the Twitter thing yet….something I need to try out.

  3. […] The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson, ill bt Beth Krommes […]

Leave a Reply

 
